Source: Claudio Saavedra, Flickr (edited). Licence.
Ben Uri Gallery & Museum exhibition catalogues
Focussing on Jewish and immigrant artists in Britain, from 1900 onwards.
Catalogues Raisonnés Database
A catalogue raisonné aims to be a comprehensive catalogue of an artist's body of work. It is possible to search the database for online catalogues only, but please note this will not always find you the most recent or authoritative catalogues: it is worth checking against the list of physical catalogues to see what else has been published. For more info about catalogues raisonnés, see the International Catalogue Raisonné Association (ICRA) and the Catalogue Raisonné Scholars Association (CRSA).
Cooper Hewitt: historic catalogues and other books
From the US design museum.
Courtauld Books Online
New scholarly art history publications, not available elsewhere. This is a new venture with a small - but growing - list of titles.
Digital Cicognara Library
Digital reproductions of the books in the library of Count Leopoldo Cicognara (1767-1834), amounting to a major collection of early works about European art and architecture.
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
Historic books (plus images and a few journals) focussing on early American decorative arts. Compiled by the University of Wisconsin.
Frick Digital Collections
Historic art books digitied by the Frick.
Getty Publications
Over 300 titles published by the J.Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Research Institute and the Getty Conservation Institute. Includes exhibition catalogues, monographs, journals and conference papers.
Getty Research Portal
Over 30,000 art history publications, rare books, and related literature, from many publishers. The collection is growing rapidly. Includes many hard-to-find items, for instance a notable collection of early Russian-language works about the Russian avant-garde.
Guggenheim publications
Catalogues and other publications from the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Several different collections of e-books. Most are accessed via the Digital Collections, including all known Met publications from 1869-1939, rare art books, and historic sales catalogues. 400 Met publications from 1964 onwards are accessed separately.
MoMA exhibition catalogues
Catalogues and other exhibition documentation from MoMA.
Museo del Barrio: exhibition catalogues
Catalogues and brochures: Latinx, Latin American and Caribbean art.
Primary Information
Small collection of books and catalogues relating to 1960s and 1970s conceptual art and performance.
Royal Academy: summer and winter exhibition catalogues
Royal Collection Trust
Lists publications about the art collections of the British royal family. Many of the older titles are available to download for free, though unfortunately it is not possible to filter the list to show only these.
Sales catalogues
Whitney Biennial catalogues
All catalogues up to 1995 online, with artist lists for more recent editions.
Wildenstein Institute publications
A range of legacy publications, principally about European about modernist painting, including several major catalogues raisonnés.