Library Hub Discover will find you books in other libraries in the UK (plus Dublin).
Library Hub Discover does not tell you which of the libraries it lists you can access, or how to arrange a visit. For this info for London, see other libraries in London. For other cities in the UK, consult the SIA librarians.
The two key libraries for MAFDAD are:
- British Library one of the three largest libraries in the world
- National Art Library at the V&A. Another important library, with many items not found in the British Library
- both these libraries offer the database Artists of the World Online and Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI), neither of which is available at SIA. The second of these can be accessed from any location once you have joined the British Library, via their electronic resources list.
However many other libraries may also be useful. Please note that visiting arrangements vary significantly from library to library:
- British Architectural Library (RIBA) for interior design
- British Museum for prints and drawings
- Courtauld Institute of Art
- Estorick Collection for Italian modernism
- Goldsmiths Company Library for jewellery and silverware
- Guildhall Library for clocks
- Kensington Public Library for furniture
- Museum of the Home for decorative arts
- National Gallery useful for researching works in the Gallery
- National Portrait Gallery
- Paul Mellon Centre for British fine art
- Senate House Library gives access to the online resources British and Irish Furniture Makers Online, The Grand Tour, Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism and World's Fairs
- Tate Library for British art of all periods, plus international modernism
- University of the Arts London for contemporary design
- Wallace Collection
- Westminster Reference Library gives access to the databases Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts and the Bloomsbury Design Library
WorldCat will find you books in other libraries worldwide. Coverage is uneven; e.g. there are some major African cities with no libraries included.
The SIA librarians will help you find books and access libraries anywhere in the world: though please note our knowledge of many countries is limited.
Archives
For researching your dissertation, you may want to make use of archives.
