.
BFI Library homepage
BFI Library and Archive catalogue
Included in Library Hub Discover? No
Access
Open to all as a reference library; no borrowing. You do not have to join or provide any ID, though you will have to fill in a simple daily registration form for certain services. Much material needs to be requested from store: you can request material in advance of your visit. Appointments are needed for consulting material from the special collections and for viewing many films.
Contact
BFI Library online contact form (see separate link above for requesting material)
Waterloo (map)
Image ©Thryduulf on Wikimedia Commons. Licence for this image.
Collections
This is a key library for film and television studies, including books, journals, unpublished material such as scripts, and both still and moving images. The collection's coverage is international, though particularly strong in British film and telelvison, plus global material shown on the major UK TV channels in the last few years. Documentary films are well-represented, and there are some resources about video art. The collection of films is known as the Archive, while archival material in paper form is known as Special Collections.
Online resources and wi-fi: Many resources are available, but generally only on the library's own computers. Resources include some which SIA does not subscribe to: Film & Television Literature Index, Film Index International and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals and BBC Redux, as well as the BFI's own resources. Resources available from any location include BFI Screenonline ("The definitive guide to Britain's film and TV history"). Wi-fi is available.
Help with your research: Librarians are available to advise you, either in person in the library or via the online contact form.