Loading...
The most frequently-used databases
✅ Recommended Database A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing access to articles from thousands of publications.
✅ Recommended Database Databank of 30 million auction prices and indices, detailed auction results and 635,568+ artists. Lists upcoming auctions for over 6300 auction houses. Archive of over 210,000 fine art auction catalogues. Artists’ reports, art market key figures and trends: price index, rankings, turnover, unsold rate, geographic distribution… Includes access to Mayer auction prices 1962-1987, Mireur dictionary of auctions 1700-1900 and the free annual report Art Market Trends.
Full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year.
Fine and Decorative Art Auctions database with over 10 million results from over 1,700 auction houses since 1985. Over half of the records include illustrations. Over 1,000 galleries are featured. The library subscribes to the Price Database only. Market Trends are not covered by the subscription.
✅ Recommended Database Art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature and theater journal articles. Alternatively, search 4 combined ProQuest arts and design databases. Some Full text. 1941-
✅ Recommended Database Find articles from academic journals and business magazines, as well as company profiles, market research, and industry reports.
This new edition of the venerable guide to the preparation of manuscripts, articles, and papers has been thoroughly overhauled and updated to reflect the new realities of digital texts and electronic publishing.
✅ Recommended Database An interdisciplinary ebook collection of over 125,000 books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas. Search the entire collection or browse by subject. Read the ebooks online or download onto multiple devices.
Learn how to download ebooks on to your ereader device
✅ Recommended Database Searches multiple EBSCO databases SIA subscribes to at once. Includes: Academic Search Premier, Art Source, Business Source Premier and Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals.
Arts & Sciences III includes journals in languages and literature, as well as essential titles in the fields of music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture. Additional interdisciplinary titles broaden the scope of coverage to include folklore, feminist & women's studies.
Find news sources, business profiles, patents, and legal research from across the globe.
✅ Recommended Database Includes Grove Art Online (an online encyclopedia of the visual arts with over 45,000 articles and over 130,000 images), Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
This is a subset of the much larger ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database. It provides convenient full-text access to only SIA-NY theses for the Sotheby's Institute of Art community. There are hundreds SIA-NY theses from 2011 onward available for SIA students in New York, London and Los Angeles to consult online.
✅
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The Art Newspaper is the premiere publication covering current goings on in the Art World. For access to this subscription, you will need to register with your SIA-NY email address.
Guides by Subject
