Skip to main content

Auction and Sales Research

This guide contains information on resources for researching auction records and results.

Auction Results Databases

Important sales information is gathered and indexed by a number of important commercial services. These databases contain images of works, basic catalogue data (artist, date, medium, dimensions, etc.) as well as date of sale, auction house, location, and hammer prices (if sold).  Your SIA SSO grants you access to these databases unless otherwise stated:

  • Artnet Fine and Decorative Art Auctions database with over 10 million results from over 1,700 auction houses since 1985. Over half of the records include illustrations. Over 1,000 galleries are featured. 

  • Art Price Databank of 30 million auction prices and indices, detailed auction results and 635,568+ artists. Lists upcoming auctions for over 6300 auction houses. Archive of over 210,000 fine art auction catalogues. Artists’ reports, art market key figures and trends: price index, rankings, turnover, unsold rate, geographic distribution

  • Invaluable The Price Archive offers online access to information from hundreds of auction catalogues. Past Auction Prices includes prices of everything from fine art to film memorabilia with strengths in decorative and applied arts coverage from the past 15 years. The Artist Database information on over 500,000 international artists, and featuring over 2 million works of art sold or upcoming at auction. You can access the current and immediately past result without login. To search the archives, please ask the librarians for credentials.

  • ARTBnk ARTBnk is a new resource, publicly launched in 2020. It is a growing database of artists (currently 400) with vetted auction records and an algorithm based valuation tool that provides estimated values based on comparison with similar works in the database.

Creative Commons License
All Library Guides by Sotheby's Institute of Art New York Library are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. 3rd-party content including, but not limited to images and linked items, are subject to their own license terms.