RefWorks Legacy Edition is a the first iteration of ProQuest RefWorks. This web-based bibliography and citation manager allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds!
You can add notes/comments/links/PDFs. You can also insert bibliographic references from your RefWorks database into a Microsoft Word document. Your choice among many styles – but Chicago Manual of Style is preferred at SIA.
Did you know? Sotheby's Institute of Art Library provides a free RefWorks account to all full-time students, it is yours to keep forever!
Access
RefWorks is web-based software. You will need the SIA RefWorks GroupCode in order to log in. Ask a librarian for the GroupCode.
Login/Sign Up
Library home page > E-Resources page > R > RefWorks
First time – “Sign Up for a New Account”
After first time, fill in Login Name and Password.
RefMobile
Click on regular Library link to RefWorks while on your handheld device or go to http://www.refworks.com/mobile/
Will be prompted for:
There are six ways to build your database in RefWorks. Click the below links to view the RefWorks User Support page to learn mroe about each method.
Converting from another bibliographic management program such as EndNote
Using the online catalog or database search option within RefWorksRefWorks
All Library Guides by Sotheby's Institute of Art New York Library are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. 3rd-party content including, but not limited to images and linked items, are subject to their own license terms.