Skip to main content

Library Resources for Non-Degree Programs

Resources for students in Sotheby's Institute of Art's Online and Summer Study Programs

Art Reference Sources

Museum and Library References

The following electronic resources are thoroughly vetted sources, compiled by experts, with accurate information that are helpful references for researching art and art history.

MCN (Museum Computer Network) Ultimate Guide to Virtual Museum Resources, E-Learning, and Online Collections

Developed by the MCM professional organization of museum workers involved with automated museum collections (registrars and collections managers) in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, this portal brings together many terrific online resources and collections from museums, libraries, and cultural centers.

Internet Archive National Emergency Library

The Internet Archive's Open Library allows free full-text access to a large selection of popular and academic titles.  During the Corona Virus National Emergency or through June 30, 2020, which ever is later, they are permitting unlimited access to its vast e-book collection, with out waiting lists.   Please note that you will need to create a free account.

Smithsonian Institution, Archives of American Art

The Archives of American Art is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.

New York Public Library Digital Collections

Explore 889,975 items digitized from the New York Public Library's collection.  

The J. Paul Getty Trust, Research Portal

Access digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature.

The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum Publications

As a vital part of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation’s mission as an educational institution, the Guggenheim Museum’s Publications Department publishes books and catalogues to document its exhibitions and collections. 

Art Resources from the Mid-20th Century 

This collaborative project between the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and the Whitney Museum of American Art presents digitized highlights from the personal libraries of Hilla Rebay and Juliana Force, the museums’ respective inaugural directors.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History

The Met's Heilbrunn Timeline of the History of Art pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum's collection.
 

The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Digital Publications

Five decades of Met publications on art history, available to read, download, and/or search for free.

One Star Press Artists' Books Collection via The Watson Library at the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Free .pdfs of the complete set of artists' books by blue chip artists made available by One Star Press and cataloged by the Watson Library at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Creative Commons License
All Library Guides by Sotheby's Institute of Art New York Library are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. 3rd-party content including, but not limited to images and linked items, are subject to their own license terms.