Skip to main content

Library Resources for Non-Degree Programs

Resources for students in Sotheby's Institute of Art's Online and Summer Study Programs

Image Sources

Image Resources

The following links are to online collections with high-quality images with accurate, vetted data from leading museums and institutions.
 

Art Resource

Art Resource is the world's largest fine art stock photo archive, with more than 1,000,000 searchable fine art images from the world's leading sources, available for licensing to all media.
 

The Art Institute of Chicago

Collection Database of the Art Institute of Chicago.


Brooklyn Museum

Collection Database of the Brooklyn Museum.
 

The Cleveland Museum of Art

Collection Database of the Cleveland Museum of Art.
 

The Frick Collection, New York

Collection Database of the Frick Collection, New York.
 

The J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles

Collection Database of the Getty Museum and Villa, Los Angeles.
 

Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York

Collection Database of the Guggenheim Museum, New York. 
 

The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York

Collection Database of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.
 

The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York

Collection Database of the Museum of Modern Art, New York.
 

The National Gallery, London

Database of Paintings in the National Gallery, London.
 

National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.

Collection Database of the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.


The Tate (Includes Tate Modern, Tate Britain, Tate Liverpool, and Tate St. Ives)

Collection Database of Works in the four Tate museums.
 

The Victoria and Albert Museum, London

 Collection Database of the Victoria and Albert Museum, London.
 

The Whitney Museum of American Art, New York

Collection Database of the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York.

Creative Commons License
All Library Guides by Sotheby's Institute of Art New York Library are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. 3rd-party content including, but not limited to images and linked items, are subject to their own license terms.