Skip to main content

MAMCAA (MA in Modern and Contemporary Asian Art): More online resources, and images

Resources for MAMCAA (MA in Modern and Contemporary Asian Art) students in London

 


Nam June Paik, Electronic Superhighway: Continental U.S., Alaska, Hawaii (1995) (detail).
Cropped version of image by ©Ryan Somma on Flickr. Licence for this image

 

Art Asia Pacific
Online magazine of contemporary Asian art and culture.

 

Art Radar Asia
"Contemporary art trends and news from Asia and beyond."

 

Asia Art Archive
Established in 2000 to document contemporary art throughout Asia.
 

 

Asia Contemporary Art Week (ACAW)
A non-profit curatorial & educational initiative of Asia Contemporary Art Consortium. Website gives access to the articles gathered in the online journal Field review.

 

Australian Centre of Asia PacIfic Art
Based at the Queensland Art Gallery of Modern Art.

 

Blouin email newsletters
Two relevant newsletters to subscribe to are the Blouin Art Guide - Asia/Pacific and Blouin Artinfo - Asia/Pacific.
 

 

Contemporary Artists Index
Search for books and exhibition catalogues featuring the work of a particular contemporary artist. 36,000 artists included. Useful for finding material about individual artists hidden within general books about contemporary art, or group cataloguesThe listing of books and catalogues is nowhere near comprehensive, but may be a useful supplementary research tool. Compiled by the Cleveland Institute of Art library.

 

Digital Archive of Indonesian Contemporary Art (IVAA)

 

Digital South Asia Library
A wide range of content: useful for historical and cultural background as well as material about art.

 

MA in Contemporary Art (MACA) guide
Lists more contemporary art resources, with links to further guides about specific media such as digital art and performance art.

 

Oxford Art Online
An authoritative online art encyclopedia with good coverage of Asian artists, themes and movements.

 

Social media is important for information and comment about the latest developments in the art world.  See the guide to searching social media, which includes some recommended email newsletters to sign up to.

 

Taiwan Contemporary Art Archive (TCAA)

 

Images

 

Artstor Asian studies guide.
Artstor is a large database of high-quality images of artworks.  This guide gives tips on finding Asian material within the database.

 

For more options, see the image resources guide