Skip to main content

New York Library Home Page

Summon     Catalogue     EResources     Ebooks     Guides     RefWorks     WorldCat     Digital Commons     FAQs     Login

Special Announcements while the Library is Closed due to COVID-19

As of Tuesday, March 10, the SIA-NY Library is closed.  However, we will continue to serve our students, faculty, and staff.

Official updates from Sotheby's Institute regarding COVID-19 and our response can be found here: https://www.sothebysinstitute.com/news-and-events/news/covid19-updates

New Quick Guide to Online Research 

We are pleased to present a new concise Quick Guide to Online Research to help introduce the most powerful resources we offer to help you find a place to begin your research.  This is just a place to start. The librarians are happy to guide you through this and beyond it, to all of our tools to help you succeed in your studies.

Additional Electronic Resources 

In addition to our subscription databases, full-text journals and articles, e-books, and other resources, please visit the resource guide we have developed for our non-degree programs for vetted lists of online resources that may be helpful in your research while this library and our sister and partner libraries are closed.  https://sia.libguides.com/c.php?g=907709&p=6536451

We are excited to introduce ARTBnk, a new auction database and valuation tool that uses AI to value artworks. Please contact the librarians for login credentials to use this exciting new resource.

EBSCO's Flipster is now available to MA students, faculty and staff for 90 days.  This allows access to thousands of magazines, including 89 art and design titles (including ArtForum International, Art in America, The Art Newspaper, ArtNews, and Aperture. arts titles can be browsed using the "Art and Design" tab on the left hand navigation).  I will be posting the username and password on Canvas, or you can reach out to one of the librarians who can send them to you.  https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&custid=ns074747&groupid=main&profile=eon

Art and Architecture ePortal : Art History books from Yale University Press. Available until July 23, 2020 by kind permission of Yale University Press.

Duke University Press is generously offering access to its collection of scholarly ebooks and journals through August 4, 2020.

Hein Online is a subscription database currently offering a large collection of material on United States Law. This databases is accessible until December 15, 2020 by kind permission of Hein. https://heinonline-org.ezproxy.sothebysinstitute.com/HOL/Welcome

The Museum Computer Network (MCN) has assembled their "Ultimate Guide to Virtual Museum Resources, E-learning, and Online Collections" which is an excellent portal to useful (and enjoyable) online art resources: http://mcn.edu/a-guide-to-virtual-museum-resources/

The Internet Archive's Open Library allows free full-text access to a large selection of popular and academic titles.  During the Corona Virus National Emergency or through June 30, 2020, whichever is later, they are permitting unlimited access to its vast e-book collection, with out waiting lists.  Their "National Emergency Library" can be accessed here: https://openlibrary.org/?iax=ntlemrlib%7cctalnk  *Please note that you will need to create a free account.

The Watson Library at the Metropolitan Museum of Art has made .pdfs of One Star Press's collection of artists' books freely available.  Explore amazing artists' books from blue chip artists here: https://library.metmuseum.org/search~S1/?searchtype=t&searcharg=Onestar+Press+PDFs&searchscope=1&sortdropdown=-&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=tOnestar+Press+PDFs

Reference Services

While we are physically closed, our librarians will still be available for reference interviews.  Please contact them by email to set up an online or telephone appointment.

Policies and General Information

Overview     Access     Policies     Loans and Renewals

Overview

The Library at SIA-New York currently holds over 11,000 titles and subscribes to over 70 current periodicals. The books can be checked out except for a small number of reference titles that may not leave the library.

Quiet Study Area and Library Facilities
We offer two workstations in our quiet study area, equipped with a printer (for research results only). The computers do NOT have MS Word, MS Excel or MS Powerpoint. We encourage students to bring their laptops and connect to our wireless network.

Printing Facilities
Two print workstations with the MS Office suite are available in the student cafe area for students wishing to print papers and assignments. Printing costs 10¢ per page for black and white and 50¢ per page for colour (20% discount for duplex printing). All students are set up with a personal print account and a credit of $2 (= 10 free B&W pages). See the signs by the print workstations for full instructions.

Photocopying & Scanning
We have one photocopier available for student use at the cost of 10¢ per page for black and white, and 50¢ per page for color copies. The machines accept coins and bills up to $5. For large copy jobs, students can request a copy card from the librarians and add larger amounts to the cards. There is also a scan station in the library. The scanner has an 11 x 17" bed and will send scans (for free) to a USB drive, Google Docs or email account.

Access

The Sotheby's Institute of Art NY Library is reserved for the use of SIA students, faculty, staff, and visiting researchers.

Sotheby's Institute of Art - London Students
Students currently enrolled in the London MA programs may use the SIA-NY Library. 
For the first visit to the library students must first contact the New York library staff to set up an appointment (nylibrary@sia.edu / 212.897.6649).
Subsequent visits will only require presentation of your valid SIA student card. 
Borrowing privileges are determined on a case-by-case basis as current New York MA students have priority for circulating materials.

Sotheby's Institute of Art Alumni
Former Sotheby's Institute of Art students may use the library by appointment. Material may only be consulted on site. nylibrary@sia.edu

Outside Researchers
Local researchers not affliated with Sotheby's Institute of Art are required to present a METRO pass from their home university or college.
Independent researchers or students and faculty at institutions outside the New York metropolitan area may make appointments to use the library and may only use materials on site. Sotheby's Institute of Art students, faculty and staff have priority for the use of library resources. Please contact us to arrange an appointment nylibrary@sia.edu

Policies

  • We ask that students do not bring food or drink into the library.
  • Water is allowed, but must be tightly capped in a spill-proof bottle.
  • Please dispose of your litter in the bin and treat the facilities with respect.
  • Students are asked to turn their mobile phones onto silent when entering the library. Please take your phones outside the library to make and receive calls.
  • Students are not allowed to download any applications onto the library workstations.
  • Students are not permitted to save files on the library computers. Please save all research material to a USB drive or email it to yourself. The library computers will be cleared of all unnecesary files on a regular basis.
  • The library printer is for printing online research only. The workstations and printers located in the café area are to be used for printing class readings and any Microsoft documents.
  • Click on the link below to access the full Library Service Level Agreement. This document is also included in the SIA-NY Student handbook.
  • Library Servicel Level Agreement

Loans and Renewals

 

Loan Periods

Standard loan periods for items from the New York Library circulating collection are:

  • MA Students: 2 weeks
  • Faculty/Staff: 4 weeks


In order to provide access to library materials for as many patrons as possible, the Library reserves the right to recall an item from any patron after the minimum loan, or immediately if the item is needed for Course Reserve.

Special Loan Periods

Videos (DVDs): 3 days

Checkout Limits

Standard checkout limits for items from the New York Library circulating collection are:

  • MA Students: 6 books and 6 DVDs
  • Faculty/Staff: 12 items

Renewals

Patrons may renew items 3 times. Books requested by other patrons will not be renewed. Books past due or due may not be renewed. Ways to Renew:

  • In person: Visit the circulation desk.
  • By email: nylibrary@sia.edu
  • Online:  My Library Account 
    • First Time Log-in
      • Click on the blue Login link on the catalog. Login with your username (your username is your SIA email address, such as Jane.Smith@sia.edu) and SIA Password.
      • To see your account details, click any of the links from the My Portal summary section, or select an option from My Portal on the Main menu. 

Returns

Materials borrowed may be returned in the book drop slot at the library's circulation desk or handed to library staff at the circulation desk.

The library does not have any drop boxes where materials may be returned when the library is not open. View hours for the library.

Reserved Items and Recalls

Sotheby's students, faculty, and staff may recall an item that is checked out to another patron by placing a reservation on it. Items may be reserved by going to the online catalog, searching for the item that is needed, and clicking the Reserve button on the record page. The patron who has the recalled item will be notified to return it after they have had it in their possession for a minimum of two weeks or the remainder of their loan period (whichever is shorter), regardless of the patron's standard loan period. Reserved titles will be held for students for up to one week and then returned to the stacks.

Recalled items cannot be renewed by the person from whom they are recalled. Patrons who receive a recall notice must return the item to the library's circulation desk by the adjusted due date to maintain borrowing privileges. Items needed for course reserve will be recalled by library staff.

Consequences for Lost and Overdue Items

• The library does not impose fines but students will have their borrowing rights suspended if they have items that are more than two weeks overdue.

• Overdue reminders are sent to Sotheby's Institute email addresses for MA/PGDip students as a courtesy.

• The librarian will follow up with students who have received a third overdue notice with an individual email and letter.

• Students will be charged the replacement cost for books they have lost.

• Receipt of graduation diplomas may be delayed for students with items that are still outstanding.

 

Creative Commons License
All Library Guides by Sotheby's Institute of Art New York Library are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. 3rd-party content including, but not limited to images and linked items, are subject to their own license terms.