Even more resources will be found in the art law guide and authenticity guide.
Antiquities Coalition
NGO based in Washington DC, working to prevent the looting and trafficking of antiquities.
Association for Research into Crimes against Art (ARCA)
Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)
Code of ethics which includes guidelines for engaging with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander art. See also the Indigenous Art Code, again from Australia, 'a system to preserve and promote ethical trading in indigenous art.'
British Art Market Federation
Policy documents on various topics such as money laundering and ivory.
Center for Art, Museum & Cultural Heritage Law
Many relevant links to other websites. From the DePaul University College of Law.
CINOA code of ethics
From the International Federation of Art and Antique Dealer Associations.
Collections from Colonial Contexts
Database of items in German public museums acquired in the colonial era. The German Contact Point for Collections from Colonial Contexts lists contacts in Germany, designed to make it straightforward for individuals and organisations from countries of origin to make enquiries.
Commission for Looted Art in Europe (CLAE)
Concerned with looted art from all periods and all areas of the world.
DACS
Campaigns and promotes fair representation and payment of artists, and fair use of images under copyright.
Digital Benin
Database of bronzes looted in the nineteenth century, with much background information. International in scope. See also the database of Benin bronzes in Germany.
Ethics of Collecting: A Code of Conduct for Contemporary Art Collectors
Created by 'a collective of collectors active both at local and international levels...based in Europe, South and North America.'
Holocaust and Second World War
Honouring the Ancient Dead
Organisation with the aim of 'promoting respect & dignity for those who have gone before.,' with a focus on people who lived in Britain or whose bodies are preserved in UK museums. Includes a database of these museums.
ICOM Red Lists of Cultural Objects at Risk
From the International Council of Museums. ICOM also produces a code of ethics.
International Association of Dealers in Ancient Art (IADAA)
Organisation notable for its code of conduct and its engagement with ethical issues.
Methods in Provenance Research
Guide from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, with many links to resources for studying Second World War provenance issues in particular.
Museums Association (UK)
Has produced a code of ethics for museums.
Nepal Heritage Recovery Campaign
Founded 2021.
Open Restitution Africa
'An Africa-led project seeking to open up access to information on the restitution of African material culture and human ancestors, to empower all stakeholders involved to make knowledge-based decisions.'
Our World Heritage
Citizens' organisation created in 2020, to complement the work of UNESCO.
Responsible Art Market Initiative
Swiss focus, but much of their work is relevant internationally.
Restitution and Repatriation: A Practical Guide for Museums in England
From Arts Council England.
Returning Heritage
'News, information and analysis on the return of cultural property.'
Routes to Return
'Aims to open up global networks, share information, and enable international repatriation.'
SAFE (Saving Antiquities for Everyone)
US nonprofit.
SocArXIV
Database of pre-publication versions of social science papers, including a good selection about cultural property and art crime.
Trafficking Culture
'Researching the global traffic in looted cultural objects.' The Encyclopedia section offers brief entries on individual countries, artefacts and court cases.
UNESCO
Website includes a section about culture in emergencies.