Detail of: Anna Klumpke, Rosa Bonheur, 1898. Oil on canvas
(117.2 x 98.1 cm). Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.
Source: Wikipedia.
Queer Heritage and Collections Network
'The project aims to launch a UK-wide network, providing training, networking and peer support to people working with LGBTQ+ collections and histories.'
Trans-Inclusive Culture: Guidance on advancing trans inclusion for museums, galleries, archives and heritage organisations.
From the University of Leicester's Research Centre for Museums and Galleries. To access, either complete the Please tell us about your interest in this resource form, or simply select Skip. See also the Research Centre's Museums and the transgender tipping point.
LGBTQ+ museums
American LGBTQ+ Museum
Due to open in 2024.
ArQuives
Canada's LGBTQ2+ archives in Toronto.
Australian Lesbian & Gay Archives
GALA, Johannesburg, South Africa
Archives of queer life in Johannesburg, South Africa.
GLBT Historical Society & Museum
Archive of the LGBTQ+ community in San Francisco.
IHLIA: LGBTI Heritage
Amsterdam Museum and Archive of LGBTI heritage.
Leslie-Lohman Museum of Art
'Created by our founders to preserve LGBTQ+ identity and build community, the Leslie-Lohman Museum of Art acts as a cultural hub for the LGBTQ+ community.' In New York City, with roots dating back to 1969.
Mimosa House
London gallery. 'We support dialogue between intergenerational women and queer artists...Mimosa House is a safe and empowering space which focuses on the fluidity of identity.'
Museum of Transology
'The UK’s most significant collection of objects representing trans, non-binary and intersex people’s lives.' Housed at the Bishopsgate Institute, London.
ONE Archives at USC Libraries
Los Angeles, USA.
Queer Britain
Charitable company that has established a national LGBTQ+ museum in London.
Queercircle
New London exhibition venue.
Schwules Museum
LGBTQ+ museum in Berlin.
Stonewall National Museum, Archives & Library
Fort Lauderdale, USA.
LGBTQ+ content in generalist museums
Brighton Museum: LGBTQ
'An overview of our recent work with LGBTQ+ communities.'
British Museum: Desire, Love, Identity: LGBTQ Histories Trail
Two self-guided trails for visitors to follow around the museum, one with three objects, one with fifteen. An audio guide is available online.
National Museums Liverpool: LGBT+ Collections
'These collections reflect historic and contemporary LGBT+ life, experiences and culture and offer new interpretations of the material from Walker Art Gallery, Museum of Liverpool, Lady Lever Art Gallery and Sudley House.'
Out in Oxford
Self-guided trail taking in the Ashmolean and six other museums.
Tate: Queer Lives and Art
Guide to LGBTQ+ artists in the collection.
V&A: LGBTQIA+ Tours
Tours led by volunteer guides, offered monthly.