National Art Library. Source: Max Beckman-Harned, Flickr (edited). Licence.
London and the rest of the UK
Library Hub Discover will find you books in other libraries in the UK (plus Dublin).
Library Hub Discover does not tell you which of the libraries it lists you can access. For this info see:
Key libraries in London for museum studies are:
Libraries worldwide
WorldCat will find you books in other libraries worldwide. Coverage is uneven; e.g. there are some major African cities with no libraries included.
The SIA librarians will help you find books and access libraries anywhere in the world: though please note our knowledge of many countries is limited.
Archives
All museums and some galleries will also have an archive of some kind. Some archives are much bigger than others. Some are digitised and available online, while others may only exist in hard copy and you may be required to make an appointment to view them.
Please note that research in archives is usually time-consuming, and there may be limitations on what you can view due to the confidential or sensitive nature of the information.
Museum and gallery archives in London include:
British Museum
Administrative archives and material relating to the running of the Museum. Archival material relating to manuscripts is held by the British Library, and archives relating to the administration of the Museum's building are kept in the National Archives.
National Gallery
The gallery's own records, including documentation of the history of its pictures. Also private papers of individuals closely connected with the Gallery.
National Portrait Gallery
The gallery's own records, plus archives related to British portraiture.
Tate
Material on artists, art world figures and art organisations in Britain from 1900 to the present day. Includes artworks, sketchbooks, letters, writings, audio-visual material, photographs, printed ephemera, press cuttings. and the Tate's own gallery records. There is an online Tate Archive catalogue.
V&A
The Museum's own records as well as material about art and design, especially 20th century British design. You will need to visit the V&A's Olympia site rather than South Kensington. The SIA London library has a printed Guide to the Archive of Art and Design, which is one part of the archive, published in 2001 (ART1.COL.VIC).The V&A Archive, which includes material relating to the museum's history and holdings, is also accessible at Blythe House.
Wallace Collection
Material relating to the collection and its founders.
White Cube
Documents artists who have exhibited at, or are represented by, White Cube. The archive does not have a webpage, but researchers are welcome to approach the gallery for access.
Whitechapel Gallery
Material relating to the gallery and its exhibitions, including photographs, video and audio.