Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art business and art markets: Further databases

Resources of all kinds for studying art business and art markets.

 

    

 

Databases available via SIA subscription

ABI/INFORM Collection is fully included in Summon, but may be searched separately if you wish
Provides access to a wide range of business publications including the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, and the Economist.

 

Oxford Art Online contains many short introductory articles about art market topics, such as Iain Robertson's Art Market Bubbles and Crashes

 

Free databases and search engines

- for finding material not included in Summon or Business Search Premier:

 

data.gov.uk
Data published by UK government departments and agencies, public bodies and local authorities
 .

 

EconStor
Scholarly articles about economics, with a reasonable selection of material about art markets.

 

Eurostat
Statistics from the European Union. See also the European Union Open Data Portal.

 

Google Dataset Search
One of three products from Google, along with the Public Data Explorer and Data Commons. All three are discussed in this post by search blogger and Google employee Dan Russell.

 

The National Archives: guide to datasets
Guide to finding UK government datasets via the National Archives website.

 

National Bureau of Economic Research
You can create your own free account and then use the search function to find articles on art markets.

 

Opencorporates
"The largest open database of companies in the world".

 

Research data repositories 
Guide to finding datasets from the librarians at the University of Sheffield.

 

Women Art Dealers Digital Archives (WADA)
'A new project to examine and elevate women art dealers’ contributions to today’s art world and the larger art-history canon.' Established 2022.

 

Many other business databases are available within the British Library and Westminster Reference Library. See the other libraries in London guide for information about joining.