Provenance
Fondazione Federico Zeri Photo Archive Catalog
290,000 photos of artworks, notably Italian paintings. Includes information on last known locations of artworks.
Frits Lugt: Les Marques de Collections de Dessins & d'Estampes
Major database of collector's stamps and marks, very useful for fine art with a European provenance. Interface can be viewed in French or English, but databse entries themselves only in French.
Provenance Guide
Online guide to provenance in art from IFAR, including links to further online resources and a bibliography.
Provenance Index Databases
Four databases for provenance research.
Provenance resources
Links from the e-book Provenance Research Today.
Forgery
Authentication in Art Foundation
Non-profit organisation based in the Hague. Website includes congress minutes, investigative reports, articles and news items on forgery and art fraud.
Forgery and Counterfeiting Act 1981
UK legislation.
US federal law on forgery
Collated by Cornell's Legal Information Institute.
Conservation
AATA Online (Abstracts of International Conservation Literature)
Database of over 139,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. Includes subject-specific bibliographies produced as part of the Getty Conservation Institute's conservation and scientific research projects. Although there is no access to the text of articles from AATA, you will find many of them by searching in Summon or the journals search box.
American Institute for Conservation
British Association of Paintings Conservator-Restorers (BAPCR)
Conservation OnLine (CoOL)
'An online resource by & for conservators & related fields, operated by the Foundation of the American Institute for conservation.' Brings together links to free online journals, specialist websites, and more.
Costume Institute Conservation
Resources on costume and clothing conservation, from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Getty Conservation Institute: Publications and Resources
Links to material from the Getty and elsewhere.
Icon (Institute of Conservation)
Another important UK-based organisation.
International Committee for Conservation (ICOM)
The Conservation Committee is the largest of ICOM's committees, with 21 working groups devoted to specialist topics in conservation.
INCCA (International Network for the Conservation of Contemporary Art)
News, information and debate about the conservation of both modern and contemporary art.
NeCCAR (Network for Conservation of Contemporary Art Research)
Three-year project that ran January 2012 to December 2014.
Sustainability in Conservation
'Promoting the practice and starting the conservation for sustainability in conservation.'
VideoPreservation
Information on transferring videos to new formats. Includes a history of video equipment.