LibGuides: Art Law: Find Images

Find Images

This select list contains links to image databases that may be related to your research at Sotheby’s Institute of Art and that keep with high standards of academic and visual content.

Selected Image Databases

American Memory from the Library of Congress Online This link opens in a new window
Search the photographs and prints database to access images from 67 collections. This database includes many images, some very good texts and pamphlets, and legal documents.
Art Images for College Teaching This link opens in a new window
Public domain images for the educational community. Collection emphasis is on ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture
Art Law and Cultural Property - Cases and Statutes (IFAR) This link opens in a new window
An extensive body of primarily U.S. case law, including both litigated cases and, notably, hard-to-find, out-of-court settlements. Relevant cases are summarized (where possible, with images of the art objects in question). There are also links to relevant U.S. statutes, foreign legislation and a glossary. A very useful resource for "non-lawyers".
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a comprehensive database of over a million images of art and architecture. The collection spans all mediums, cultures, and time periods.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
The Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division's online catalog.

Image Databases A-Z

Image Resource Databases A-Z
An alphabetical list of image databases.