Art Law in a Nutshell by
Art Law in a Nutshell overviews art as an investment, from copyrights to trademarks, and examines issues involving museums and collecting. Subjects covered include the customs definition, international art movement, and the victim of war. Explores auctions; authentication; insurance; and tax problems for collectors, dealers, and artists. Also addresses the working artist, aid to the arts, moral and economic rights, and freedom of expression.
Legal Research in a Nutshell by
Finding and using legal resources effectively is an essential skill for lawyers. This comprehensive but succinct guide covers major Internet resources as well as online databases and library materials, with almost a hundred illustrations of print and online sources. Several hundred websites are discussed and placed in context for effective and productive use in research. Discussion includes coverage of legislative history, administrative law, specialized and interdisciplinary resources, and research in international and comparative law. Appendices list state research guides and treatises and services by subject.
Close
Whose Monet? by
This extraordinary paperback provides a highly accessible and appealing orientation to the American legal system and presents basic concepts of civil litigation to first-year law students. Whose Monet? An Introduction to the American Legal System focuses on a lengthy dispute over the ownership of a painting as a vehicle for introducing students to the basic law school tasks of reading analytically, understanding legal materials, and working with the common law.
Visual Arts and the Law by
This essential handbook offers art professionals and collectors an accessible legal analysis of important principles in art law, as well as a practical guide to legal rights when creating, buying, selling and collecting art in a global market. Although the book is international in scope, there is a particular focus on the US as a major art centre and the site of countless key international court cases. This authoritative but accessible and wide-ranging volume is essential reading for arts advisors, collectors, dealers, auction houses, museums, investors, artists, attorneys and students of art and law.
Art Law by
Provides unsurpassed legal, business, financial, tax, and estate planning information and guidance for this major sector of the creative arts.
Includes a host of step-by-step, field-tested checklists and a vast storehouse of adaptable model agreements involving collectors and dealers, owners and dealers, and dealers and dealers, as well as forms for appraisals, fine art licenses, property exchanges, tax-free exchanges, loans and promised gifts from artists' estates, dealings with auction houses, private and public commissions, and museum donations.
Art Law by
Designed as a primary text for courses on Law and the Visual Arts, Cultural Property Law, or Cultural Heritage Law, the three-part framework of this highly readable casebook explores Artists' Rights, Art Markets, and the International Preservation of Art and Cultural Property.
With remarkable scope and currency, Art Law: Cases and Materials features: comprehensive and balanced topical coverage that includes IP, cultural property, the First Amendment, art markets, and museum law an in-depth look at the transactions and relationships between artists and galleries, dealers, and clients thoughtful discussion of the preservation of art and cultural property in peacetime and wartime.
Art, Cultural Heritage, and the Law by
One of the first and most comprehensive legal casebooks to address the rapidly emerging fields of art and cultural heritage law. It is also distinctive in its extensive use of an interdisciplinary approach and images to illustrate the artworks discussed in the legal materials.
This book addresses artists; rights (freedom of expression, copyright, and moral rights); the functioning of the art market (dealers and auction houses, warranties of quality and authenticity, transfer of title and recovery of stolen art works, and the role of museums), and finally cultural heritage.
Black's Law Dictionary, Standard Ninth Edition by
With a reputation for quality and authority that is without peer, Black's Law Dictionary is a must-have reference for attorneys, paralegals, judges, and law students. This ninth edition offers more than 45,000 expertly crafted legal definitions containing an additional 2,000 new terms, nearly 3,000 quotations from legal authorities, and selected terms with their date of origin in American and/or British opinions.
All Library Guides by Sotheby's Institute of Art New York Library are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. 3rd-party content including, but not limited to images and linked items, are subject to their own license terms.
