Archives Directory for the History of Collecting in America
Is a guide to archives in the USA containing material about American collectors, dealers, agents and advisors. The great majority of these collections are in the USA, with a handful in Canada and Europe. Even if you cannot visit the archives, the directory contains useful information about its subjects. Compiled by the Center for the History of Collecting at the Frick Reference Library.
Ethics of Collecting: A Code of Conduct for Contemporary Art Collectors
Created by 'a collective of collectors active both at local and international levels...based in Europe, South and North America.'
Frits Lugt: Les Marques de Collections de Dessins & d'Estampes
Major database of collector's stamps and marks, very useful for studying the history of collecting in Europe Interface can be viewed in French or English, but database entries themselves only in French.
Getty Provenance Index Databases
Incorporates four databases for provenance research.
Montias Directory of 17th Century Dutch Art Inventories
Database of collection inventories
Online guide to provenance in art from IFAR, including links to further online resources and a bibliography.
Royal Collections Trust
Website of the collection of the British royal family. Includes a collection database and an introduction to past members of the royal families who were significant collectors.
Society for the History of Collecting
International scholarly society. See in particular the reading lists gathered under the RESOURCES menu.