Skip to main content

Image resources: Offline image resources

Information library, online and offline image resources and images copyright.

 


Image ©Mike Peel via Wikipedia

 

Courtauld Institute of Art
 

The Courtauld houses three image collections at the Somerset House campus:

 

  • Conway LibraryOver one million images: photographs and cuttings of architecture, architectural drawings and publications, sculpture (approximately 10,000 sculptors are represented), ivories, seals, metalwork, manuscript illumination, stained glass, wall paintings, panel paintings and textiles. Images are mounted on card and housed in boxes on open shelves. Access is by reader's card, which also allows use of the Witt Library, and costs £10/year.

 

  • Witt LibraryA collection of reproductions after paintings, drawings and prints, of western art, covering the period 1200 to the present day.  The collection contains approximately two million reproductions after works by 70,000 artists. Access is by reader's card, which also allows use of the Conway Library, and costs £10/year.

 

  • Photographic SurveyPhotographs of art works from private collections in Britain. Copies of many photographs are in the Conway and Witt Libraries. The full collection, and the related documentation, are housed separately by the Survey, and access to these is by appointment only. Please see their webpage for contact details.

 

Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art

185,000 photographs of British fine and decorative art, from 1500 onwards. Particularly good for eighteenth-century art.
See also our information about the Centre's library.

 

Warburg Institute
A unique collection of photographs documenting the icongraphical tradition in Western art. Only accessible with a letter of recommendation from an academic: see our information about the Warburg library for more information. As of September  2019, 20% of the collection is available as online images.

 

Most archives will also contain rare, often unique, images.