Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Black art - modern and contemporary, Africa and diaspora: More online resources

Guide to resources for studying Black art of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

 


Wangechi Mutu, The End of Carrying All, 2015 (installation view).
Cropped version of image by ©MANYBITS on Flickr. Licence for this image

 

Contents of this page

Global (more-or-less)

Africa

Africa - biennials

Diaspora: Europe

Diaspora: Caribbean

Diaspora: North America

Museums and galleries

 

Global (more-or-less)

Africanah
'Arena for Contemporary African, African-American and Caribbean Art.'

 

AFRIKADAA
'Afro design and contemporary arts.' Based in Dakar. Some content in French, some in English.

 

Antiracism and Decolonial Approaches for Art History
Reading lists from the UK Association for Art History.  The lists include many items relevant to modern and contemporary Black art.

 

Black Art Library
Instagram account by Asmaa Walton from Detroit,  highlighting recommended books.

 

Black Lives Matter (Exact Editions)
Collection of articles from many journals and magazines, including an art section.

 

C& (Contemporary and)
Extensive coverage of contemporary Black art, globally.

 

Decolonising Design
Campaigning website.

 

George Floyd & Anti-Racist Street Art
'The Urban Art Mapping George Floyd and Anti-Racist Street Art database seeks to document examples of street art from around the world that have emerged in the aftermath of the murder of George Floyd as part of an ongoing movement demanding social justice and equality.'

 

GRIOT
'Contemporary culture, arts, music, style, from Africa, the African diaspora and beyond.'

 

International Curators Forum
Founded in 2007, with a focus on cultural diversity. Many projects focussing on Black art.

 

Slade to Zaria
Blog by Chibundu Onuzo.

 

The Sole Adventurer (TSA Art Magazine)
'Focused on contemporary art from Africa and the African diaspora.'

 

Something We Africans Got
'Engages with past and current cultural movements from Africa and the Black worlds.'

 

Africa

African Artists' Foundation (AAF)
'Non-profit organisation dedicated to the promotion and development of contemporary African art.'

 

Arts Ghana
Visual and other arts.

 

ArtThrob
'Reporting on the [South African] arts scene and the involvement of South African artists in the international art world.'

 

Nairobi Now
Listing of arts and cultural events in and around Nairobi.

 

Omenka
African arts and lifestyle website.

 

South South
"An online community, an anthology, an archive and a resource for artists, galleries, curators and collectors invested in the Global South."

 

University repositories
OpenDOAR's global list of repositories enables browsing of repositories in individual African countries.

 

Africa - biennials

 

 

Diaspora: Europe

African and Asian Visual Artists Archive
2000 images of works by artists of recent African and Asian descent working in Britain since World War Two.

 

Autograph
"Autograph’s mission is to enable the public to explore identity, representation, human rights and social justice through work produced by artists who use photography and film." Founded by a group of Black British photographers in 1988.

 

Black Artists & Modernism
Presents an introduction to British modernists of African or Asian descent.

 

Black Presence in British Portraiture: the BP2 podcast
Podcast series produced by a network of scholars, museum professionals and collectors.

 

Caribbean Artists Movement (1966-1972)
Introductory article by Errol Lloyd, for the British Library.

 

Diaspora: Caribbean

Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)
'dLOC is a cooperative of partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides users with access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections.'  Good coverage of art, plus useful for historical and social backgrounds.

 

Diaspora: North America

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Archive of publicly-funded radio and television, including good coverage of African-American art.

 

Archives of American Art: digital collections
Reasonable coverage of African-American artists.

 

ARTNOIR
Exists "to celebrate and highlight the work of creatives of color while catalyzing cultural equity across the arts and culture industries."

 

Black Film Archive
Guide to finding Black films via streaming services; seems to be limited to US films at present.

 

Culture Type
'Focused on visual art from a Black perspective ... explores the intersection of art, history, and culture.'

 

Destination Crenshaw
New (2022) urban regeneration project in Los Angeles, designed to highlight African American culture including a large amount of public art.

 

Gallery Gurls
Blog by Black Latinx New York-based author Jasmin Hernandez, focussing on BIPOC artists, curators and gallerists, both male and female. Includes interviews and studio visits.

 

Harlem Fine Arts Show
"The Harlem Fine Arts Show (HFAS) celebrates the African Diaspora by bringing together contemporary artists with the growing class of collectors."

 

See in Black
Black American photographers' project, established 2020.

 

Souls Grown Deep
"Souls Grown Deep Foundation & Community Partnership are dedicated to promoting the work of African American artists from the South, and supporting their communities by fostering economic empowerment, racial and social justice, and educational advancement."

 

Some of the many relevant museums and galleries