Skip to main content

E-books: E-book collections accessible via Summon

E-book collections (art-focused and general).

Contact us

Email us at library@sia.edu

Call us on 020 7462 3230

Chat to us

 

Library website

Summon

 

 

ebraryEbook Central

Access to over 75,000 academic e-books. You need to create your own free account to access all features, including downloading whole books, adding notes and highlighting passages of interest to you. However this account is not needed for reading online, or downloading single pages or chapters. Ebook Central is particularly good for general business titles and some key art titles.

The SIA librarians have created the following folders of e-books on specific topics: 

art markets: key titles
authenticity

digital art
modern and contemporary Chinese art
moving image
museums, curating and display

performance art

photography
public art

See also Ebook Central's own guide to the collection

 

Hathi TrustHathiTrust Major free collection of digitised books and journals. Good for older material.

 

 

Database of Open Access Books

Directory of Open Access Books
Recent scholarly books, made freely available by their authors. Downloads mainly in PDF format. 

 

Getty Publications
Over 200 titles published by the J.Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Research Institute and the
Getty Conservation Institute. Includes exhibition catalogues, monographs, journals and conference papers. 

 

Credo Reference
Collection of reference books: 832 as of June 2017. May be more useful for background information than art-specific material.


Google BooksGoogle Books
Good for older works that are out of copyright. Also offers brief extracts, cover images and contents pages for newer titles which are not offered full-text.

 

Image result for Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg
Older, out-of-copyright works on a wide range of subjects. Includes an art collection and an architecture collection which can be searched separately.