Source: Stefan Georgi, Flickr (edited). Licence.
Journals
Most journal, magazine and newspaper articles will be found by Summon, or the other databases listed in the first section of this guide.
However you may want to browse a journal, magazine or newspaper individually, entering its title (not the article title) in the search box below:
Use the search box above to find publications such as:
For more info:
Websites
Africa Foto Fair
'An online platform to connect Africa to the world and the world to Africa through images.'
Autograph
'Autograph’s mission is to enable the public to explore identity, representation, human rights and social justice through work produced by artists who use photography and film.' Founded by a group of Black British photographers in 1988.
Black Photographers Annual
Important African American publication: four volumes were issued, in 1973-1980.
Daguerreobase
Database of daguerreotypes.
Digital Public Library of America: photography
Collection of US photographs, grouped by theme.
Europeana Photography
Very large collection of digitised photographs, drawn from institutions across Europe.
Exhibitions of the Royal Photographic Society 1870-1915
Database of over 45,000 records, including reproductions of the exhibition catalogues. From De Montfort University, who also provide a database of members of the Society, 1853-1901.
Graphics Atlas
Site designed to assist in the identification of photographic processes.
iPhoto Central
'Thousands of web pages for the photography collector, curator and historian.' Includes all issues of the E-Photo Newsletter.
japan exposures
'A personal introduction to Japanese photography.'
JSTOR
As well as journal articles, includes 700,000 photographs.
Lagos Studio Archives
Instagram account: 'resurrected studio archives documenting life in Lagos from the 1970s to post millennium. An artist-run initiative by Karl Ohiri & Riikka Kassinen.'
Library of Congress photography collections
Among many other collections are the following:
Photo History Links
Huge collection of links from Jeff Curto, organised by topic.
Prix Pictet
Award for photography and sustainability, founded 2008. Also offers the podcast A Lens on Sustainability.
Photographic Exhibitions in Britain 1839-1865
Pictorialist photography exhibition catalogues
103 exhibition catalogues from 1891-1914, made available online by the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Originally donated to the Museum by Alfred Stieglitz.