Summon is usually the best starting point for finding articles, books and dissertations. 

• video intro to Summon (4 mins) 
• collection of guides if you need help with particular Summon searches

You may also want to run supplementary searches in these databases:

• Art & Architecture Source
• Google Scholar: an alternative to Summon
  • info about using Scholar 
  • video intro to Scholar (3 mins)

Some resources focussing on contemporary women artists:

• Art Insights: Creative Conversations with Artists from the Women's Caucus for Art
• Asian American Women Artists Association (AAWAA)
• AWARE database of women artists born between 1860 and 1972.; includes good listing of links to other resources
• contemporary women artists e-book collection
• Getty Research Institute: archives and resources for feminist research mostly designed for users of their library in Los Angeles, and most of the online resources are only accessible with a Getty log-in. However there are a few free online resources, and many suggestions for books, journals and artists
• Great Women Artists Podcast
• Independent Voices: feminist press feminist magazines published in the USA in the second half of the 20th century, some with art content
• La Prairie Art Award for Australian women artists
• museums, galleries, exhibitions and collections a set of links for women-focussed institutions and events
• Secondary Archive platform for women artists from Central and Eastern Europe
• Where are the Women Artists database of contemporary artists
• Women and Art Tate Gallery
• Woman's Building  documents the 1970s art centre in Los Angeles. Digitised archival material is available on a separate site.
• !Women Art Revolution interviews with 1970s feminist artists and critics, available as both videos and transcripts; biographies of participants also included
• women's art: theoretical and introductory e-book collection