This guide is about modernist fine art, though many of the suggestions will also be relevant to the study of modernist design.

Summon is usually the best starting point for finding articles, books and dissertations. 

• video intro to Summon (4 mins) 
• collection of guides if you need help with particular Summon searches

You may also want to run supplementary searches in these databases:

• Art & Architecture Source
• Google Scholar: an alternative to Summon
  • info about using Scholar 
  • video intro to Scholar (3 mins)

For introductory articles:

• Oxford Art Online: its components, Grove Art Online and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists can be searched separately or together
• Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms for definitions. Note: running a search will also retrieve results from other Oxford reference works

Black Artists and Modernism presents an introduction to British modernists of recent African, or Asian, descent.

Some resources focussing on women modernists:

• AWARE database of women artists born between 1860 and 1972
• Bow Down: Women in Art  podcast from Frieze magazine including many European women artists from this period
• Canadian Women Artists History Initiative 'Scholarly research into women’s contributions to the cultural and material history of Canada. Our focus is on the period prior to 1967'
• Great Women Artists Podcast  covers many artists from this period
• Irish Women Artists resources from the National Gallery of Ireland about women artists of the early 20th century
• museums, galleries, exhibitions and collections a set of links for women-focussed institutions and events, many relevant to modernism
• Women and Art Tate Gallery webpage
• Women in the Visual Arts introductory article from Oxford Art Online, with links to many more detailed articles from Oxford
• women modernists e-book collection