Skip to Main Content

Old masters - men and women: Books, dissertations and journals

Resources for the study of historic European painting from the Middle Ages to the eighteenth century, including markets

 

E-books

See these e-book collections:

Most other e-books will be found with Summon.

However please also see the e-book guide for:

  • more info about the e-book collections available in Summon
  • links to other e-book collections which need to be searched separately from Summon

 

Catalogues Raisonnés Database
A catalogue raisonné aims to be a comprehensive catalogue of an artist's body of work.  It is possible to search the database for online catalogues only, but please note this will not always find you the most recent or authoritative catalogues: it is worth checking against the list of physical catalogues to see what else has been published.  For more info about catalogues raisonnés, see the International Catalogue Raisonné Association (ICRA) and the Catalogue Raisonné Scholars Association (CRSA). See also the Index to Catalogues Raisonnés of Works on Paper, which covers European and American prints, print publishers, drawings, and photographs; and Japanese prints and photographs.

 

Books

The key areas of the library are:

  • FIA5 fine art: the West in general
  • FIA6 fine art: Europe
  • FIA8 fine art: individual artists
  • AB.MKT art markets today.  Many books include old masters
  • PAT5 collecting and patronage: the West in general. Including books on the history of the markets
  • PAT6 collecting and patronage: Europe. Including books on the history of the markets
  • PAT8 individual patrons and collectors 

Other useful areas include:

  • AB.AUT authenticity
  • AB.CON conservation
  • ART5 western art. The ART section contains books dealing with multiple artforms - e.g painting plus sculpture plus architecture, while books in FIA focus solely or mainly on painting
  • ART6 European art 

 

Dissertations

 

Journals

Most journal, magazine and newspaper articles will be found by Summon, or the other databases listed in the first section of this guide.

However you may want to browse some titles individually, such as:

  • Apollo
  • Burlington
  • Colnaghi Studies Journal
  • Master Drawings 
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin
  • National Gallery Technical Bulletin
  • Rijksmuseum Bulletin
  • RKD Bulletin

 

Use the search box below to find these journals:

 

 

 

 

Our Art Newspaper guide gives full details of the different ways of accessing this key resource. The guide is part of a larger guide to newspapers.

 

More info: