Detail of: Gaspar de Witte, Hieronymus Janssens and Willem Schubart von Ehrenberg, Interior of an Art
Collector's Cabinet with Many Visitors, 17th century. Oil on canvas (120 x 172 cm). Musée Girodet, Montargis.
Source: Wikipedia.
Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online
Definitions of art terms, and synonyms in English and other languages.
ART-Dok
Journal articles on art history. Much German content as well as articles in English.
Art Signature Dictionary
Images of 40,000 artists' signatures, monograms and symbols: signatures can also be found in Benezit.
ARTbibliographies Modern and Bibliography of the History of Art
Databases with overlapping coverage, for finding citations to journal articles on western art published since 1973. The text of the articles themselves is not included. OpenBibArt is a new and apparently similar database, offering coverage of earlier articles too.
Black Presence in British Portraiture: the BP2 podcast
Podcast series produced by a network of scholars, museum professionals and collectors.
Email newsletters
An excellent way of keeping up with breaking news stories in this field.
Fondazione Federico Zeri Photo Archive Catalog
290,000 photos of artworks, notably Italian paintings. Includes information on provenance and alternative attributions
Frames
A collection of links to sites about picture frames.
Gallica
A very large collection of books and other material uploaded by the Bibliothèque nationale de France. Almost all material is in French. However you can search for material in a specific language, and the website itself can be viewed in several different languages.
Image resources guide
For high-quality images of art works.
Provenance
RKD (Netherlands Institute of Art History)
A large database of book titles, article titles, images and more, especially useful for researching Dutch art.
Royal Academy summer and winter exhibition catalogues
Society for the History of Collecting
Includes reading lists about collecting during the renaissance, the 17th and 18th centuries, and the 19th and 20th centuries. Many of the items in these lists are about collectors of old masters.
Spanish Artists from the Fourth to the Twentieth Century: A Critical Dictionary
From the Frick Collection. Includes details of alternative forms of artists' surnames.
Union List of Artist Names
Names and other basic information about artists. Useful for checking the different names and variants artists have been known by.
Warburg Institute Iconographic Database
Large collection of images of artworks, organised iconographically. This link is to an introductory page: you can also go straight to the database.
Watercolour World
Database of documentary watercolours up to 1900.