Art law and IP law: Books, dissertations and journals

 

    

 

E-books

Most e-books will be found with Summon, including a good range of titles about IP.

However please also see the e-book guide for:

• more info about the e-book collections available in Summon
• links to other e-book collections which need to be searched separately from Summon

 

Books

Key sections of the library are:

• AB.LAW art law
• AB.ETH ethics in the art world
• MUSE.LAW law for museums and galleries

However you will also find relevant material in these sections:

• AB.AUT Authenticity
• AB.FAK fakes and forgeries
• AB.WW2 World War II and Nazi regime
• AB.MKT and PAT1.HB. Many books in these sections will include sections on legal issues, for instance:
• Appraising Art   AB.MKT.AAA
• The Art Collector's Handbook by Mary Rozell   PAT1.HB.ROZ
• Selling Contemporary Art  by Edward Winkleman  AB.MKT.WIN

 

Dissertations

Dissertations completed by previous MA students at SIA will often be useful, for their bibliographies as well as the original research and analysis they contain.

• partial list of law-related MAAB dissertations in the London library
• partial list of online law-related MAAB dissertations in the New York collection

See also:

• guide to looking at SIA dissertations
• dissertations and theses from other colleges and universities

 

Journals

Most journal articles will be found with Summon or one of the other databases listed in the first section of this guide.  However you may also want to browse a journal, magazine or newspaper individually, entering its title (not the article title) in the search box below:

 

Title begins withTitle equalsTitle contains all wordsISSN equals       

 

Titles to find with this search box include:

• Antiques Trade Gazette
• Art, Antiquity and the Law
• Columbia Journal of Law & the Arts
• IFAR Journal
• Journal of Arts Management, Law and Society
• Journal of Cultural Economics
• Financial Times
• International Journal of Cultural Property
• Santander Art and Culture Law Review
• Spencer's Art Law Journal
• browse lists of more law-related journals

 

Using the above search box, run a Title contains all words search for intellectual property to find many academic journals in this area.

 

The Art Newspaper is also an important resource for art law.

 

For more info:

• journals guide 
• newspapers guide