LibGuides: Library and Academic Resources, Summer 2016: New York Public Library

Study @ NYPL

NYPL has 4 large closed-stacks, non-circulating research libraries and dozens of branch libraries with open stacks and circulating collections. Some of the closest NYPL locations are also the most significant collections relating to the areas of study at Sotheby's Institute of Art:

Stephen A. Schwarzman Arts & Humanities Research Library (Links to an external site.) (closed stacks) - Fifth Ave. & 42nd St.
Science Industry and Business Research Library (Links to an external site.) (open and closed stacks) - 188 Madison (@ 34th St.)
Mid-Manhattan Branch Library (Links to an external site.) (open stacks and circulating) - 455 Fifth Ave. (@ 40th St.)

Also nearby:

Terence Cardinal Cooke-Cathedral Library (Links to an external site.) (open stacks and circulating) - 560 Lexington Avenue (@ 51th St., just below Starbucks)
58th Street Library (open stacks and circulating) - 127 East 58th Street (between Park Ave. and Lex.)
Grand Central Library (open stacks and circulating) - 135 East 46th Street (between Lex. and 3rd Ave.)

Access: NYPL libraries are open to the public but make sure you apply for your library card to request materials online through the catalog and to check out materials from the collections. You will also be able to access hundreds of databases and thousands of e-books through NYPL with a library card.

New York Public Library Website 92 Locations: The Bronx, Manhattan, and Staten Island

NYPL Research Divisions

NYPL Research Divisions

The New York Public Library’s research divisions contain art, artifacts, manuscripts, multimedia, rare books, and more across a wide range of subjects. Begin your exploration of NYPL’s collections by using the links below.

Library Card + Access

Apply for a NYPL Library Card

Apply for your NYPL Library Card to borrow books and DVDs from their extensive collection.

Library Catalog + Databases

NYPL Classic Catalog
The online catalog for the The New York Public Library.
E-resources and Databases
Begin your research with over 300 databases providing online access to journals and magazines, historical newspapers, reference works from NYPL.
New Catalog (BROWSE) @ NYPL
New York Public Library's new catalog interface provides more flexibility for future growth and integrates the rich collection in our catalog with the wealth of other content NYPL has to offer.
Archives and Manuscripts Catalog
The New York Public Library holds nearly 10,000 archival and manuscript collections comprising over 50,000 linear feet of material in nearly every format imaginable. They preserve evidence (often unique and unpublished) of human activity and achievement that forms a basis for the study of political, social, economic, and cultural history.
Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Holdings comprise works of art as well as reference materials on painting, sculpture, drawing, printmaking, photography and the history of architecture from prehistoric times to the present. These collections include more than one million works of art, complemented by nearly 700,000 monographs and periodicals.