Library and Academic Resources, Summer 2016

A freely-available, comprehensive database of over 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.

Index to finding aids and other descriptive information about the holdings of manuscript and archival collections in libraries and research institutions throughout the world.

The Archives Directory for the History of Collecting is a pioneering resource created to help researchers locate primary source material about American collectors, dealers, agents and advisors, and the repositories that hold these records.

The Archives is the world’s pre-eminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.

Provides a structured vocabulary of around 125,000 terms, scope notes, and other information for describing fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture. Useful for checking what keywords to use for a comprehensive online search on a topic.

The Atlas of Analytical Signatures of Photographic Processes is intended for practicing photograph conservators, curators, art historians, archivists, library professionals, and anyone responsible for the care of photograph collections. Its purpose is to aid in the formulation of analytical questions related to a particular photograph and to assist scientists unfamiliar with analysis of photographs when interpreting analytical data. The Atlas contains interpretation guides with identification of overlaps of spectral peaks and warnings of potential misidentification or misinterpretation of analytical results.

Includes and extends the Repertoire d' Art et d' Archeologie from 1973-1989 and the International Repertory of the Literature of Art from 1975-1989, covering European and American art from antiquity to present.

Timeline of fashion history from the 18th to the 20th century, from Kent State University Museum.

A searchable database listing published catalogues raisonnés, and ones in preperation. A catalogue raisonné is a comprehensive, annotated listing of all the known works of an artist, either in a particular medium or all media.

The National Museum of Women in the Arts' database is a unique interactive database containing authoritative information on 18,000 women visual artists of all time periods and nationalities.

BCIN is one of three conservation databases first released in 1987. CIN's objective is to facilitate the retrieval and exchange of information concerning conservation and restoration of cultural property. Contains over 190,000 bibliographic citations for conservation literature. 1987-present

Offers free, full-text, quality controlled, open-access scholarly journals in a variety of subjects and languages.

Academic peer-reviewed books from over 57 publishers.

Over 2 million digitized items from the Bibliothèque nationale de France and its partners.

Information related to the history of collecting and the provenance of individual works of art; gathered from sales catalogues, archival records, and museum files.

Free digital backlist titles from the Getty Publications Archives.

A selection of open access journals marked "Free Content"

Provided by the Frick Art Reference Library: The Frick Art Reference Library hosts a unique database of inventories of Dutch 16th and 17th century art collections compiled by late Yale University Professor John Michael Montias. Drawn largely from the Gemeentearchief in Amsterdam, these inventories contain a wealth of information that can elucidate patterns of buying, selling, inventorying and collecting art in Holland during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

An experimental interface to a collection of biographical data describing photographers, studios, manufacturers, and others involved in the production of photographic images. Consisting of names, nationalities, dates, locations and more that have been culled from trusted biographical dictionaries, catalogs and databases, and extensive original research by NYPL Photography Collection staff. Interactive and super cool!

Locate works by an artist and institutions owning the artist’s works.

Contains biographical information about artists and architects, including variant names, pseudonyms, and language variants.

Contains the names and addresses of copyright holders, or contact persons for authors and artists whose archives are housed in North America and the United Kingdom.