About: The Elmer Holmes Bobst Library is the main library at New York University. Bobst is the university's largest library and one of the largest academic libraries in the U.S.
Access: All SIA-NY students are provided with reader privileges for New York University’s Bobst Library. This library is one of the largest academic research libraries in the city and offers graduate level research collections in art and business. SIA-NY students are able to study at NYU during the extensive operating hours and can make use of the comprehensive list of electronic resources available at Bobst. Access to NYU's Bobst library will require a valid SIA-NY student card with an NYU Bobst sticker.
The Bobst library stickers grant reader privileges only. They do not allow SIA-NY students to borrow material from the Bobst library. All resources must be used on site.
SIA-NY students have access to most of the NYU subscription databases on site as well.
How do I access wi-fi at NYU Bobst?
Location:
Elmer Holmes Bobst Library, 10th Floor
70 Washington Square South
(West 4th between LaGuardia and Greene Streets)
New York, NY 10012
About: The Fales Library, comprising nearly 350,000 volumes of book and print items, over 11,000 linear feet of archive and manuscript materials, and about 90,000 media elements, houses the Fales Collection of rare books and manuscripts in English and American literature, the Downtown Collection, the Food and Cookery Collection, the Riot Grrrl Collection, and the general Special Collections of the NYU Libraries.
Access: The Fales Library is open to NYU students, faculty and staff, as well as qualified researchers and scholars from throughout the US and abroad. Appointments are necessary for all researchers who wish to consult archival materials. To schedule an appointment, please email Fales at fales.library@nyu.edu. Read more.
Location:
Fales is located on the 3rd floor of NYU's Bobst Library.
Elmer Holmes Bobst Library, 10th Floor
70 Washington Square South
(West 4th between LaGuardia and Greene Streets)
New York, NY 10012
About: The Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives at New York University form a unique, internationally-known center for scholarly research on Labor and the Left. The primary focus is the complex relationship between trade unionism and progressive politics and how this evolved over time. Archival, print, photograph, film, and oral history collections describe the history of the labor movement and how it related to the broader struggle for economic, social, and political change.
Access: The Tamiment Library is open to the public. Researchers who are unaffiliated with New York University must present a valid photo ID at the Library Privileges window just inside the front door of Bobst Library to receive a day pass to visit Tamiment on the 10th floor of the building. Once in Tamiment, they must register and show a valid photo ID to use the Library's collections. Read more.
Location:
Tamiment Library is located on the 10th floor of NYU's Bobst Library