Skip to Main Content

Library and Academic Resources, Summer 2016

SIA-NY students may use this guide to discover resources and great places to study in New York City this summer



Did you know that you can search over 2 million e-books through our quick search, Summon? Summon includes both our licensed e-book collection as well as many open access collections such as Hathi Trust and DOAB. 

If you have questions about finding or accessing e-books, please Ask a Librarian!

Download Ebooks

Ebook Collection How to Download
ebrary Visit ebrary Support for an overview and full instructions on how to view and download ebrary books
DOAB Click on the ‘Free access’ link to download books
Hathi Trust You can search and access fully viewable materials in HathiTrust, and download materials where there are no third-party restrictions 
Internet Archive and Open Library Once you locate a book, select a file format to download in the Download Options box
NYPL Ebooks New York Public Library offers thousands of e-books on many topics. You will need your NYPL library card number and online library account set up to download
Project Gutenberg In the download tab, select the file format you would like to download

 

Browse Ebook Collections

  • Project Gutenberg Online Catalog
    • ebooks
    An on-going project to produce and distribute free electronic editions of literature. The literature carried by Project Gutenberg is typically out of copyright and includes many historically important documents (especially American ones) and much 'fine literature' (Shakespeare, Dickens, etc)
  • HathiTrust (Global Public Domain only) This link opens in a new window
    • Citations / Abstracts / Indices
    • ebooks
    HathiTrust is a repository of digitized materials in all disciplines. Its content--primarily scanned books and journals-- may be searched via authors, titles, subjects, and other data elements. Public Domain in the US
  • Open Book Publishers
    • ebooks
    Open Book Publishers, founded in 2008, is already the biggest open access academic publisher of monographs in the UK and amongst the leaders in the English-speaking world
  • Open Library
    • ebooks