Skip to Main Content

Databases: Databases by subject

Key databases offered at SIA London



Source: Ed Yourdon, Flickr (edited). Licence.

 

Art: historic and contemporary

Too many to list: please browse the A-Z section of this guide.  Other useful databases include: ART-Dok   Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History    Modernist Journals Project    OpenBibArt   Union List of Artist Names 

  • Art & Architecture ePortal, Artists of the World Online (Thieme and Becker's Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon) and Oxford Bibliographies: Art History available at National Art Library
  • International Bibliography of Art and Index of Medieval Art available at the Warburg Institute

 

Art law and IP law

Nexis Uni

     • SIA law guide for more options

 

Art markets and art business 

ABI/INFORM Collection   ArtTactic (log-in will be emailed to all MA/PGDip students)  Business Source Premier   Nexis Uni

  • more business databases at Westminster Business Library

     • SIA art markets guide for more options

 

Asian art
 Most general art databases have some coverage of Asian art, varying from excellent to reasonable.

  • Bibliography of Asian Studies available at SOAS (free access limited to three visits a year)

 

Catalogues raisonnés

Catalogues raisonnés database   Index to Catalogues Raisonnés of Works on Paper
 

 

Conservation
AATA Online (Abstracts of International Conservation Literature)
     • SIA authenticity guide for more options

 

Decorative arts and design
 Too many to list: see the A-Z section of this guide and the art: historic and contemporary section above.

  • Art History Research net available at National Art Library
  • Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts and Bloomsbury Design Library available at Westminster Reference Library
  • British and Irish Furniture Makers Online available at Senate House Library - for MA students only

 

Dictionaries

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms  Union List of Artist Names

  • Oxford English Dictionary and Oxford Dictionary of National Bibliography available at National Art Library, Westminster Reference Library and elsewhere; access at home often available through public libraries
  • SIA writing guide for more options

 

Dissertations and theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global    Global ETD Search   Open Access Theses and Dissertations

    • SIA dissertations guide for more options

 

E-books
Ebook Central   Getty Research Portal
     • SIA e-books guide for more options

 

Fashion

  • Berg Fashion Library available at National Art Library
  • Fairchild Book Library available at Westminster Business Library, Westminster Reference Library and other Westminster public libraries
  • Fashion Monitor available at Westminster Business Library

 

Historical background
     • Access to Research available at Westminster Reference Library and many other public libraries
     • Oxford Dictionary of National Bibliography available at Westminster Reference Library and elsewhere. Access from home available via many public libraries

  • Empire Online available at National Art Library and Senate House Library (the latter for MA students only)

 

Images

JSTOR (including the content previously in Artstor)

      • SIA images guide for more options

 

Journals

Too many to list: see the A-Z section of this guide. Other useful databases include: Directory of Open Access Journals   Modernist Journals Project   Internet Archive Scholar.

     • SIA journals guide for more options

 

LGBTQ+

  • six excellent databases available at Senate House Library - for MA students only
  • SIA LGBTQ+ art guide for more options

 

Newspapers

Nexis Uni    US Major Dailies

   • SIA newspapers guide for more options

 

Price databases
artnet   Artprice   Invaluable (current SIA staff and students should email library@sia.edu for Invaluable log-in)

 

Repository search engines
BASE   CORE   OAIster
     • SIA repositories guide for more options 

 

Sales catalogues

Sotheby's and Christie's sales catalogues, 2020 onwards   (current SIA staff and students should email library@sia.edu for password)

  • Art Sales Catalogues Online (incorporating Lugt's Répertoire) available at National Art Library
  • SIA sales catalogues guide for more options

 

Women artists

AWARE (women artists born between 1860 and 1972)