Email us at library@sia.edu
(emails answered Monday-Friday, 9.30am-7pm)
Call us: 020 7462 3230
(calls answered Monday-Friday, 9.30am-7pm)
Instagram: librarysia
A database is a structured collection of information. Our databases usually contain one or more of the following:
Source: divinetechygirl.
a b - d e - g h - i j - m n - o p - q r - z
This page lists all databases SIA London subscribes to, plus the most important free databases. More free databases can be accessed via the databases by subject tab. Remember: it's often best to use Summon, which searches many databases at once.
Consists of three databases: ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. Provides full text access to business publications such as the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, and the Economist.
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)
A major collection of journal articles and more. Includes over 600 full text journals, over 220 e-books, and citations and abstracts to further material. Incorporates the contents previously found in Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete. Can be searched as part of EBSCO: combined search.
An index of journal articles about art published from 1974 onwards, with some earlier material. Also includes details of some books, dissertations and other material. No access to the text of the resources themselves. However you may be able to find these by searching in Summon, the SIA journals list, or in another database such as Art & Architecture Source.
Two auction price databases, for fine arts and decorative arts. Over 2.9 million records from over 500 auction houses since 1985. Over half of the records include illustrations. Over 1,000 galleries are featured. The library subscribes to the price database only, and not to the analytics report packages.
Database of 30 million auction prices and indices, detailed auction results and 635,000+ artists. Lists upcoming auctions for over 6300 auction houses. Archive of 210,000 fine art auctions. Artists’ reports, art market key figures and trends by country. Includes access to Mayer auction prices 1963-1987, Mireur dictionary of auctions 1700-1900, and the annual report Art Market Trends.
Searchable database of more than 1 million images. Covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and many other forms of visual culture.
ArtTactic sends an individual log-in to each MA/PGDip student in the first semester, by email.
If you cannot find your log-in details, then go to the lost password page and a request a new password with your SIA email address. If your email address is not recognised, try your personal email address instead. If that is not recognised either, please email library@sia.edu with details of how you have tried to log-in. We will contact ArtTactic on your behalf.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
This citation database covers material published between 1975 and 2007. BHA includes articles from over 1,200 journals. BHA includes all articles within the subject scope of BHA regardless of the subject focus of a particular journal. Thus, many of the journals on this list are covered partially, as only some of their articles are within BHA's scope.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Important business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Includes the Harvard Business Review and the Academy of Management Review. With a British Library reader's ticket you can access a more comprehensive version of this database: visit the British Library's electronic resources list, and search for Business Source Complete. Business Source Premier can be searched as part of EBSCO: combined search.
16th edition of the definitive guide to Chicago referencing. Includes recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices in the digital age.
Access to over 75,000 academic e-books. You need to create your own free account to access all features, including downloading whole books, adding notes and highlighting passages of interest to you. However this account is not needed for reading online, or downloading single pages or chapters. Ebook Central is particularly good for general business titles and some key art titles.
Simultaneously searches all EBSCO databases subscribed to by SIA at once, most importantly Art & Architecture Source, Business Source Premier and GreenFILE. See Business Source Premier, higher up this page, for info about accessing a more comprehensive version of this database via the British Library.
An alternative to Summon for finding scholarly material from many sources at once. Includes scholarly material not indexed by the main Google search engine, such a selection of content from university repositories. Does not personalise your results, unlike the main Google search engine.
There are two ways of using Scholar to link to SIA databases:
Material that is free to read online will have a PDF link, or online at SIA link, or similar, on the right of the screen. Many articles come in multiple versions, accessed by the small link All x versions below each result. This is worth checking as alternative versions may be available even if the primary version is not.
Under each Google Scholar search result, you will see a link to later papers and other resources that have cited the resource in question. This can be useful for evaluating how influential a paper has been, and for following the subsequent scholarly debate.
(Please email library@sia.edu for username and password: available to current SIA staff and students only)
Prices and other information about sales of fine and decorative arts and collectable objects, worldwide. Includes details of upcoming auctions and an auctioneer's directory.
An important collection, focused on the arts and humanities.
SIA's subscription does not cover the whole of JSTOR. However if you need an article which is not included in the SIA subscription, two weeks' access is often possible by creating a free MyJSTOR account and using the Register & Read service.
Major database of legal resources, with much business-oriented material. Includes journal and newspaper articles, legislation and other official legal documents. Mostly full-text.
Use the link above to search these two reference works together:
Oxford Art Online contains many high-quality images, and it is again possible to filter your search to find these.
Searches all the listed ProQuest databases at once including Art and Architecture Archive, Arts & Humanities Full Text, ProQuest Research Library, various newspapers, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses and the Publicly Available Content Database. Options are available to include/exclude individual databases.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Humanities and Social Sciences
Very large collection of doctoral and masters' dissertations and theses in the world. Sotheby's Institute of Art - New York dissertations from 2011 onwards are included.
Sotheby's and Christie's sales catalogues, 2020 onwards
(Please email library@sia.edu for password: available to current SIA staff and students only)
PDFs of sales catalogues issued since 2020 (Sotheby's) and 2021 (Christie's). Includes sales held in London, New York, Hong Kong and Paris.
Includes five titles: the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.