Skip to main content

Databases: Databases A-Z

Key databases offered at SIA London

Contact us

Email us at library@sia.edu

Call us on 020 7462 3230

Library homepage

What is a database?

A database is a structured collection of information. Our databases usually contain one or more of the following:

  • articles and papers - the full text from journals and other sources
  • abstracts - summaries of articles and papers
  • citations - basic details of articles, papers and books, as in a bibliography
  • financial data - from the art world
  • images.

Summon


image ©divinetechygirl

 

a    b - d    e - g    h - i    j - m    n - o    p - q    r - z

 

This page lists all databases SIA London subscribes to, plus the most important free databases.  More free databases can be accessed via the databases by subject tab. Remember: it's often best to use Summon, which searches many databases at once.

 

AATA Online (Abstracts of International Conservation Literature)
content only included in Summon if found in another database as well as AATA
Database of over 139,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. Includes subject-specific bibliographies produced as part of the Getty Conservation Institute's conservation and scientific research projects. Although there is no access to the text of articles from AATA, you will find many of them by searching in Summon or the journals search box.

 

ABI/INFORM Collection
nearly all content included in Summon

Consists of three databases: ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. Provides full text access to business publications such as the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, and the Economist.
ProQuest's guide to ABI/INFORM


Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
most content included in Summon
multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Can be searched as part of EBSCO: combined search.

 

Art and Architecture Archive (ProQuest)
all, or nearly all, content included in Summon
An archival collection of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the 20th-century that supports scholarship across the spectrum of disciplines in the arts, from fine and applied arts through to interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening.
ProQuest's guide to Art and Architecture Archive

 

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)
most content included in Summon, but separate search recommended due to gaps in coverage
A major collection of journal articles and more. Includes over 600 full text journals, over 220 e-books, and citations and abstracts to further material. Incorporates the contents previously found in Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete. Can be searched as part of EBSCO: combined search.

 

ARTbibliographies Modern
citations included in Summon, but text of articles only included if in another database
An index of journal articles about art published from 1974 onwards, with some earlier material. Also includes details of some books, dissertations and other material. No access to the text of the resources themselves. However you may be able to find these by searching in Summon, the SIA journals list, or in another database such as Art & Architecture Source.
ProQuest's guide to ARTbibliographies Modern

 

artnet
content not included in Summon
Two auction price databases, for fine arts and decorative arts. Over 2.9 million records from over 500 auction houses since 1985. Over half of the records include illustrations. Over 1,000 galleries are featured. The library subscribes to the price database only, and not to the analytics report packages.

 

Artprice
content not included in Summon
Databank of 30 million auction prices and indices, detailed auction results and 635,000+ artists. Lists upcoming auctions for over 6300 auction houses. Archive of 210,000 fine art auctions. Artists’ reports, art market key figures and trends by country. Includes access to Mayer auction prices 1962-1987, Mireur dictionary of auctions 1700-1900, and the free annual report Art Market Trends.

 

Arts & Humanities Database
all, or nearly all, included in Summon

Features hundreds of journals covering art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre and cultural studies. Includes both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
ProQuest's guide to this database

 

Arts: Search
little content included in Summon
Includes three databases, plus research guides:

ReView offers digitised versions of an increasing number of the most important decorative and fine arts journals published in Europe and the USA during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, making them available for the first time in a searchable form online.

Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR) is an ongoing abstracting and indexing service that aims to cover many of the most important design and applied arts journals and annuals published during the twentieth century. DAR covers articles on all design, from architecture to embroidery, and also has significant fine arts coverage. When complete it will cover over 70 titles.

Arts+Architecture Profiles covers the same subject fields as DAR and is by far and away the largest and most comprehensive dictionary of design and designers ever compiled. It includes profiles of every single designer, architect, craftsperson, studio, workshop, etc. whose work is discussed or illustrated in the journals and yearbooks covered by DAR.

The research guides are free to access and list other free online resources: sources of biographical information for artists and designers; digitised versions of historic journals; and recommended art history blogs, newsletters and journals.


Artstor
content not included in Summon
Searchable database of more than 1 million digital images and associated catalogue data. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view and download images. Subject guides for specific topics are included.
To download or print images, you will need to create a personal account after you have logged in with your Sotheby's email address. To do this, click Register in the Login box on the top right hand corner. Then fill in the generated form. Once you have registered, you can then save or print your chosen image.

 

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
content only included in Summon if found in another database as well as BHA
This citation database covers material published between 1975 and 2007. BHA includes articles from over 1,200 journals. BHA includes all articles within the subject scope of BHA regardless of the subject focus of a particular journal. Thus, many of the journals on this list are covered partially, as only some of their articles are within BHA's scope.

 

Bridgeman Education
much content, but probably not all, included in Summon
Over 300,000 images from 2,000 sources and 30,000 artists with accompanying metadata. Users are able to search all media including photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture, archaeology & ethnography, history, science & medicine, decorative arts and artefacts.

 

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
most content included in Summon, but separate search recommended due to gaps in coverage
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Includes the Harvard Business Review and the Academy of Management Review.  Business Source Premier focuses on full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.  Can be searched as part of EBSCO: combined search.

 

Ebook Central
most content included in Summon
Access to over 75,000 academic e-books. You need to create your own free account to access all features, including downloading whole books, adding notes and highlighting passages of interest to you. However this account is not needed for reading online, or downloading single pages or chapters. Ebook Central is particularly good for general business titles and some key art titles.
ProQuest's guide to Ebook Central

 

EBSCO: combined search
most content included in Summon, but separate search recommended due to gaps in coverage
Simultaneously searches all EBSCO databases at once, including Academic Search Premier, Art & Architecture Source and Business Source Premier. it is also possible to search individual databases, or any combination of two or more databases. Art & Architecture Source includes the material previously found in Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete.

 

Google Scholar
some content included in Summon
An alternative to Summon for finding scholarly material from many sources at once. Includes scholarly material not indexed by the main Google search engine, such a selection of content from university repositories. Does not personalise your results, unlike the main Google search engine. There are two ways of using Scholar to link to SIA databases:

follow a link such as this from the library website, or:
on the Scholar homepage, choose Settings from the top menu, and then Library links from the menu on the left. Enter Sotheby's in the search box that appears, and you should be given the option to tick and then save Sotheby's Institute of Art - New York/UK. Your choice should be saved until you clear your cookies.
If an article or other document is available via SIA's subscriptions, you will see a link "online @ SIA" on the right of the Google results screen.

Under each Google Scholar search result, you will see a link to later papers and other resources that have cited the resource in question. This can be useful for gauging how influential a paper has been, and for following the subsequent scholarly debate.

 

Invaluable
content not included in Summon
(Please email library@sia.edu for username and password)
Prices and other information about sales of fine and decorative arts and collectable objects, worldwide. Includes details of upcoming auctions and an auctioneer's directory.

 

JSTOR
all, or almost all, journal articles but fewer e-books included in Summon
Journal articles, focused on the arts and humanities. An important collection.
SIA's subscription does not cover the whole of JSTOR. However if you need an article which is not included in the SIA subscription, two weeks' access is often possible by creating a free MyJSTOR account and using the Register & Read service.

 

JURN
content not included in Summon unless found in another database as well as JURN
A search engine for finding free online copies of scholarly journal articles. Specialises in arts and humanities.

 

Kanopy (streaming video)
only very limited content included in Summon
Documentary videos covering a broad range of topics. You can save clips to embed in presentations and webpages. Includes fine art, photography, other areas of the arts, business, and many other subjects.

 

Nexis Uni (previously LexisNexis)
most content included in Summon, but separate search recommended due to gaps in coverage
Major database of legal resources, with much business-oriented material. Includes journal and newspaper articles, legislation and other official legal documents. Mostly full-text.

 

Oxford Art Online
little content included in Summon
Collects together 5 scholarly reference works that originally existed independently. These are:

  • Grove Art Online: a great starting point for studying an artist, school, medium or theme. Articles are often detailed and include bibliographies for further reading. Global coverage but particularly good for western art.

  • Benezit Dictionary of Artists: global coverage, but particularly good for European artists. Includes biographies, summaries of work, selected museum listings, and often reproductions of signatures, monograms and stamps of sale.

  • To search specifically in the final three components of Oxford Art Online, first run in a search in Oxford Art Online as a whole. You will then see a link for searching these three together:

  • Oxford Companion to Western Art: a useful supplement to Grove and Benezit.
  • Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Termsauthoritative definitions of terms in the visual arts. 
  • Encyclopedia of Aesthetics: the most substantial English-language reference work devoted to aesthetics. Articles cover both historical and contemporary concepts and debates.

 

Oxford Art Online contains many high-quality images, and it is again possible to filter your search to find these.

 

Project MUSE
most content included in Summon
Over 400 humanities and social sciences journals, from around 100 not-for-profit publishers.
Log-in to MUSE not recognised? Clear your browser cache and try again. If problems continue, please contact the library, letting us know which browser (e.g. Chrome, Safari) you are using.

 

ProQuest: combined search
virtually all content included in Summon
Searches all the listed ProQuest databases at once including Arts & Humanities Full Text, Art and Architecture Archive, ProQuest Research Library, various newspapers, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses. Options are available to include/exclude individual databases.

 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Humanities and Social Sciences
all content probably included in Summon
Very large collection of doctoral and masters' dissertations and theses in the world. Sotheby's Institute of Art - New York dissertations from 2011 onwards are included.

 

ProQuest Research Library
all, or nearly all, content included in Summon
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from the general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines. 
ProQuest's guide to the Research Library

 

US Major Dailies
all, or nearly all, content included in Summon
Includes five titles: the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.