Skip to main content

New York Library Home Page

Summon     Catalogue     EResources     Ebooks     Guides     RefWorks     WorldCat     Digital Commons     FAQs     Login

Collection Development Statement

The Sotheby’s Institute of Art-New York Library collects materials in all formats to support its mission.    For print books, print periodicals, and physical video and sound recordings, the first priority for new acquisitions is the needs of faculty to support current curricula.  Most electronic resources are shared with our London campus and licenses and subscriptions are determined through consultation between the London and New York Head Librarians with input from faculty.

Remaining acquisitions budget is used to purchase research material supporting the study of art, art history, the art market, art law, and other relevant disciplines through subscriptions to the major periodicals of record, sales catalogues from Sotheby’s, Christie’s, and Phillips, important museum exhibition catalogues (with an emphasis on Modern and Contemporary, and other areas when of international importance) from leading institutions, monographs and anthologies by leading scholars in the areas covered by SIA.  Faculty are encouraged to submit requests at least one month before the material will be needed to ensure that it can be acquired, processed, and catalogued in time for it to be available to students. 

Faculty and Student Acquisitions Requests

Following the Collection Development Statement above, the Library solicits recommendations for acquisitions from faculty and students.

Faculty

Faculty are encouraged to submit requests for acquisitions in support of their courses one month before classes begin to ensure that they are available for students in time for the semester.  Please submit requests the Head Librarian at e.wolf@sia.edu.  Faculty are also encouraged to request titles that are relevant to their areas of expertise and that form the core literature of their respective disciplines.

Students

Students researching their masters theses and projects are also encouraged to suggest key titles in support their research when they are in the general scope of the library.  Please submit requests the Head Librarian at e.wolf@sia.edu.

New Acquisitions

Title Author Classification Date
19th century art Rosenblum, Robert., Janson, H. W. N6450 .R67 2005 2005
African art : from the Menil collection Van Dyke, Kristina. N576.H68 A534 2008 2008
Allen Ruppersberg : intellectual property 1968-2018 Engberg, Siri,, Ruppersberg, Allen, N6537.R86 A4 2018 2018
The annotated Mona Lisa : a crash course in art history from prehistoric to the present Strickland, Carol,, Boswell, John, N5302 .S76 2017 2017
Art as jewellery : from Calder to Kapoor Guinness, Louisa, NK7310 .G85 2018 2018
Art from Guantanamo Paige, Laino,, Thompson, Erin L., N6512.75.P7 A7 2017 2017
Art of jazz : form/performance/notes Bindman, David,, Blier, Suzanne Preston,, Grant, Vera Ingrid, ML3849 .A77 2017 2017
Background noise : perspectives on sound art LaBelle, Brandon. NX650.S68 L33 2015 2015
Bejewelled by Tiffany, 1837-1987 Phillips, Clare. NK7198.T5 P55 2006 2006
Bejewelled treasures : the Al Thani collection Stronge, Susan,, Whalley, Joanna,, Ferrari, Anna, NK7376.A1 S77 2015 2015
Birds of a feather : Joseph Cornell's homage to Juan Gris McKinley, Mary Clare,, Cornell, Joseph. N6537.C66 A4 2018 2018
Brassai Brassai,, Galassi, Peter. TR647 .B73 2018 2018
Bright lights in the Dark Ages : the Thaw collection of early medieval ornaments Adams, Noel. NK1263 .A33 2014 2014
Brilliant effects : a cultural history of gem stones and jewellery Pointon, Marcia R. GT2250 .P65 2009 2009
Carving 18th-century American furniture motifs Kubalak, Tony, TT195 .K834 2017 2017
Collection conundrums : solving collections management mysteries Buck, Rebecca A.,, Gilmore, Jean Allman, AM133 .B83 2007 2007
Colour in contextual play Kosuth, Joseph,, Dimitrova, Mira,, Lauf, Cornelia., Mazzoleni, Davide,, Mazzoleni, Luigi,, Di Meo, Aurelia, N6537.K67 A4 2017 2017
Creating exhibitions : collaboration in the planning, development, and design of innovative experiences McKenna-Cress, Polly., Kamien, Janet. AM151 .M42 2013 2013
Creating the visitor-centered museum Samis, Peter S.,, Michaelson, Mimi, AM121 .S35 2017 2017
Danh Vo : take my breath away Vo, Danh,, Brinson, Katherine. N7314.3.V6 A4 2018 2018
Dark side of the boom : the excesses of the art market in the twenty-first century Adam, Georgina, N8600 .A333 2017 2017
Del Kathryn Barton Ewington, Julie, N7405.B368 E85 2014 2014
Diamond Mountains : travel and nostalgia in Korean art Lee, Soyoung, N8214.5.K7 D53 2018 2018
Double vision : the unerring eye of art world avatars Dominique and John de Menil Middleton, William, N5220.M555 M53 2018 2018
Enlightened princesses : Caroline, Augusta, Charlotte, and the shaping of the modern world Marschner, Joanna,, Bindman, David,, Ford, Lisa L., NX543 .E55 2017 2017
Everything is alive Doner, Michele Oka, NB237.O395 A4 2017 2017
Experiments with truth : Gandhi and images of nonviolence Helfenstein, Josef., Newland, Joseph N., Lal, Vinay., Wolf, Eric Michael., Kamps, Toby. NX650.P4 E97 2014 2014
Eyesight alone : Clement Greenberg's modernism and the bureaucratization of the senses Jones, Caroline A. N7483.G73 J66 2005 2005
Forrest Bess : seeing things invisible Elliott, Clare,, Gober, Robert, N6537.B476 A4 2013 2013
French jewelry of the nineteenth century Vever, Henri, NK7349.A1 V4813 2001 2001
Gems & crystals : from one of the world's great collections Harlow, George E.,, Sofianides, Anna S., QE366.2 .S64 2015 2015
Harrie T. Lindeberg and the American country house Pennoyer, Peter,, Walker, Anne,, Stern, Robert A. M.,, Wallen, Jonathan, NA7561 .P46 2017 2017
If these jewels could talk : the legends behind celebrity gems Bernstein, Beth, NK7310 .B47 2015 2015
Illuminature Williams, Rachel, QL49 .W5553 2016 2016
An illustrated dictionary of jewelry : 2,530 entries, including definitions of jewels, gemstones, materials, processes, and styles, and entries on principal designers and makers from antiquity to the present day Newman, Harold. NK7304 .N43 1987 2005
The Italian Embassy in London Tavella, Mario., Sancho-Arroyo Puliti, Maria, Listri, Massimo. NA4445.G72 L65 2017 2017
Jacob El Hanani linescape : four decades. El Hanani, Jacob, NC139.E43 A4 2017 2017
Jasper Johns Johns, Jasper,, Bernstein, Roberta,, Devaney, Edith,, Testar, Anna,, Heyler, Joanne,, Schad, Ed, N6537.J6 A4 2017b 2017
Jewellery in the age of Queen Victoria : a mirror to the world Gere, Charlotte., Rudoe, Judy. NK7309.85.V53 G472 2010 2010
Jewellery matters Unger, Marjan,, Leeuwen, Suzanne van,, De Jong-Dalziel, Robyn, NK7306 .U6 2017 2017
The jewelry of ideas : the Susan Grant Lewin Collection Ilse-Neuman, Ursula,, Baumann, Caroline,, Lewin, Susan Grant,, Gentille, Thomas, NK1397.I47 J49 2017 2017
The life and work of Thomas Chippendale Junior Goodison, Judith,, Chippendale, Thomas, NK2542.C5 G659 2017 2017
Loops : una historia de la musica electronica Morera, Omar. ML1092 .L66 2002 2002
Los Angeles to New York : Dwan Gallery, 1959-1971 Dwan, Virginia,, Rozanski, Paige,, Meyer, James Sampson, N8660.D87 L67 2016 2016
Magnetic : the art and science of engagement Bergeron, Anne (Anne Therese), Tuttle, Beth. AM121 .B47 2013 2013
Maker & muse : women and early twentieth century art jewelry Karlin, Elyse Zorn, NK7310 .M35 2015 2015
The Manual of strategic planning for cultural organizations : a guide for museums, performing arts, science centers, public gardens, heritage sites, libraries, archives, and zoos Lord, Gail Dexter,, Markert, Kate, AM121 .L67 2017 2017
Mark Rothko : an essential reader Greene, Alison de Lima, N6537.R63 M37 2015 2015
Matisse in the studio McBreen, Ellen,, Burnham, Helen,, Blier, Suzanne Preston,, Barnet, Anna, N6853.M33 A4 2017 2017
Michele Oka Doner : how I caught a swallow in midair Doner, Michele Oka,, Collins, Thom,, Rutkoff, Rebekah, NB237.D66 A4 2016 2016
Mierle Laderman Ukeles : maintenance art Phillips, Patricia C.,, Finkelpearl, Tom,, Harris, Larissa,, Lippard, Lucy R., N6537.U39 A4 2016 2016
Mona Hatoum, Terra infirma Hatoum, Mona,, White, Michelle, N6797.H338 A4 2018 2018
My generation : young Chinese artists Pollack, Barbara,, Li, Zhenhua,, Pill, Katherine,, Smith, Todd D., N7345.6 .M9 2014 2014
Mystical symbolism : the Salon de la Rose Croix in Paris, 1892-1897 Greene, Vivien,, Jumeau-Lafond, Jean-David,, Silver, Kenneth E., NX549.P2 M97 2017 2017
The new museum : selected writings Dana, John Cotton,, Peniston, William A., AM5 .D354 1999 1999
Nina Katchadourian : curiouser Roberts, Veronica,, Kastner, Jeffrey., Horodner, Stuart, N6537.K297 A4 2017 2017
Of Earth and Heaven : art from the Middle Ages Reeves, Matthew N6750 .S264 2018 2018
Picasso : the line Picasso, Pablo,, Gimenez, Carmen,, Breslin, David,, Elliott, Clare, NC248.P5 A4 2016 2016
Po Kim : then and now : a centennial exhibition of the artist's birth Kim, Po-hyon,, Rubinstein, Raphael,, Yun, Pom-mo,, Wei, Lilly,, Heartney, Eleanor,, London, Barbara, N7369.Y858 A4 2017 2017
Portrait jewels : opulence and intimacy from the Medici to the Romanovs Scarisbrick, Diana, NK7342 .S33 2011 2011
Reconstructing Francesco Di Giorgio, architect Hub, Berthold., Polalli, Angeliki. NA1123.M3587 R43 2011 2011
Rings : jewelry of power, love and loyalty Scarisbrick, Diana, NK7444 .S33 2007 2007
Rothko : the color field paintings Rothko, Christopher,, Spring, Jenny Moussa,, Bishop, Janet C., ND237.R725 A4 2017 2017
Seeing slowly : looking at modern art Findlay, Michael N6490 .F534 2017 2017
Sinking sun by Roy Lichtenstein. Lichtenstein, Roy,   2006
Snapshot : painters and photography, Bonnard to Vuillard Easton, Elizabeth Wynne., Cheroux, Clement, TR71 .S63 2011 2011
Songs for sabotage : New Museum Triennial 2018 Carrion-Murayari, Gary., Gartenfeld, Alex. N6497 .N49 2018  
Sonia Delaunay : art, design, fashion Ruiz del Arbol, Marta,, Delaunay, Sonia., Godefroy, Cecile,, Monti, Matteo de, N6853.D34 A4 2017 2017
Sottsass Sottsass, Ettore,, Thome, Philippe,, Picchi, Francesca,, Sudjic, Deyan,, King, Emily,, Zanot, Francesco,, Rossi, Aldo,, Branzi, Andrea,, Terragni, Emilia, N6923.S57 A4 2017 2017
TEFAF New York Fall 2016.   N8695 .G797 P35 2016 2016
TEFAF New York Spring 2017.   N8695 G797 P35 2017 2017
To give and to receive : a handbook on gifts and donations for museums and donors Theobald, Sharon Smith,, McCarthy, Laurette E., McKune, Amy,, Parker Miller, Beth J., Vreeland, Romy M. AM135 .T6 2011 2011
Understanding jewellery BENNETT,David, Mascetti, Daniela. NK7309 .B46 1994 2003
Visitor-centered exhibitions and edu-curation in art museums Villeneuve, Pat,, Love, Ann Rowson, N435 .V57 2017 2017
What is a museum now? : Snhetta and the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art Davidson, Justin,, Russeth, Andrew,, Solnit, Rebecca, N740.5 .S66 2017 2017
Wiener Werkstatte 1903-1932 : the luxury of beauty Witt-Dorring, Christian,, Staggs, Janis, NK945.V53 N58 2017 2017
The wretched of the screen Steyerl, Hito,, Berardi, Franco, N6888.S782 A35 2012 2012
Yinka Shonibare MBE Shonibare, Yinka,, Kent, Rachel. N6797 S53S559 2014 2014

Creative Commons License
All Library Guides by Sotheby's Institute of Art New York Library are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. 3rd-party content including, but not limited to images and linked items, are subject to their own license terms.