Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New York Library Home Page

Summon     Catalogue     EResources     Ebooks     Guides     RefWorks     WorldCat     Digital Commons     FAQs     Login

MA Theses and Projects

Masters Theses

The Library holds bound copies of all SIA-New York theses that earned the award of Distinction.

Most theses since 2011 (inclusive) are available electronically with full text access via ProQuest Dissertations & Theses @Sotheby's Institute of Art (login credentials required).

Masters Projects

Since 2016, graduating students have been strongly encouraged to submit their Masters Theses and Projects to the SIA Digital Commons. Many students have agreed to make their work Open Access, and these projects and theses can be accessed from anywhere. Others have restricted the use of their work to the SIA community. If you have trouble accessing these, please contact the librarians who can download them and send them to you via email.

Theses and Dissertations from Other Institutions

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global 
With more than 2.4 million entries, the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT) database is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world. ProQuest's UMI Dissertation Publishing group publishes more than 65,000 new dissertations and theses each year, with weekly updates to the PQDT database. Over 930,000 dissertations and theses are available in PDF format, and most include free twenty-four page previews. Coverage: 1639-present. Full text included. ProQuest.

The Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

EThOS - Electronic Theses Online Service (British Library) 
EThOS is run by the British Library and requires registering and creating an account (free). It offers online access to PhD theses from many UK universities and other institutions. Many UK institutions offer open access to their theses, so download of their theses is free to the student or researcher. A small number of participating institutions do not offer open access and in this case there may be a fee. EThOS can only offer theses from participating institutions.
EThOS will digitise theses that so far only exist in hard copy, but there will be a delay while this is done for you. You will be informed when the thesis is ready for collection and you can then log on to the system and download it.

Theses Canada 
Search this Library and Archives Canada database for Canadian theses and dissertations. Some are available in full text format, usually post-1998.

Trove 
Trove is the National Library of Australia's online repository of Australian and online resources. It includes records for almost a million Australian theses and dissertations. Click here for information on searching Trove for theses. Some material is open access and downloadable and some is not.

WorldCat 
this is a free resource (http://www.worldcat.org) and the thesis/dissertation search below will pull theses and disserations entered in 5,000+ WorldCat member library catalogues and labelled as such. It is not a thesis/dissertation repository service such as the ProQuest resource above.

To search WorldCat - Select the Advance Search option. In the lower half of the search screen, select Thesis/Dissertation from the Content dropdown menu. Enter search criteria.

 

Creative Commons License
All Library Guides by Sotheby's Institute of Art New York Library are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. 3rd-party content including, but not limited to images and linked items, are subject to their own license terms.