Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Quick Guide to Online Research

This guide is a primer on conducting scholarly research remotely, highlighting the most fundamental, important, and most powerful resources available to Sotheby's Institute of Art, New York MA students, faculty, and staff.

Full Text Academic Journal Article Databases

Perhaps the richest and strongest resources the library offers are exhaustive databases of scholarly journals. Many contain full text of articles and all are worth exploring via our A-Z List of Electronic Resources.  

Here are some of the most important and where we recommend you begin your research:

  • JSTOR Arts and Sciences III Arts & Sciences III includes journals in languages and literature, as well as essential titles in the fields of music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture. Additional interdisciplinary titles broaden the scope of coverage to include folklore, feminist & women's studies.
  • Art Source Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Full text plus abstracts and indexing of an array of peer-selected publications, indexing going back as far as 1929 for some publications. An Image Collection of over 63,000 images.
  • Art and Humanities Database Art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature and theater journal articles. Alternatively, search 4 combined ProQuest arts and design databases. Some Full text. 1941-.

All of these resources require SSO for access.

Creative Commons License
All Library Guides by Sotheby's Institute of Art New York Library are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. 3rd-party content including, but not limited to images and linked items, are subject to their own license terms.